Old 03-26-2015, 01:12 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1969 21' Globetrotter
Calgary , Alberta
Water systems and electrical

I am new to my 1970 Globetrotter. She needs some work and I am in need of some education!

Here are my questions:

1. There is a circuit breaker between the power convertor to battery. Look like it may have been installed after the fact. I am having issues with power to the front half of the trailer. I did short the system by accident when installing a new battery. I was connected to 120 and the positive terminal hit the trailer body and shorted. I have managed to get power back to the rear of trailer (over head lights) the fuses (glass tubes) inside the power convertor all look intact. The radio and over table light now do not work. I cannot see there being any other fuses in the line so open to anyones suggestions.

2. There is a water pump in the front left of trailer by fresh water tank. That I have no idea on how to get going or if it works. Open to ideas or instruction. How does this pressurized system work? We always had a manual pump in our other trailers.

3. There is a blue tank in the rear of trailer with a wood lid? What goes in there?

4. I have two switches on the walls of the trailer. One above the the sink with half of it red? No idea what that controls. Another switch by door..I assume that is for exterior light.

5. Any other electrical or plumping advice would be welcome.

Thank you all so much

Old 03-26-2015, 02:22 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1967 26' Overlander
1955 22' Flying Cloud
1964 17' Bambi II
Clear Lake Shores , Texas
1. Are the non working items connected to 110 or 12 volt system?
2. Pump is almost certainly 12 volt. You can test it by connecting it directly to a 12 volt battery or othr 12 volt power source. It pressurizes the system in place of a city water connection and delivers water from the onboard tank. Pump switch i typically located near the kitchen sink.