Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Airstream Lifestyle > Photography
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-29-2005, 03:16 PM   #1
Confused & Wandering

1993 34' Excella
Right here, , where ever I wake up
Send a message via AIM to Theo
New Camera

This year's travels are going to be shown to all of you, by way of a new digital camera, and plethora of lenses...

Today I paid for a Pentax *ist DS, with 28-80mm zoom, 70-300mm zoom, and a 500mm Mirror lens to get the long shots.. I have been an avid photographer for more years than I care to remember - my first SLR camera was a brand new Zenit E, some 35 years ago that served me well, until it literally fell apart in my hands, after a few thousand pictures. From that I progressed, eventually to a Canon F1, which lasted many years. When I came to the States, I rekindled my love for photography, and bought Pentax, culminating 3 years ago, in the purchase of a PZip, which I use often, and happily. I have had a few Digital cameras during the last 5 or 6 years, but have found their abilities too limited.. That is, until now. In our travels last year, we met a gentleman in Death Valley, who introduced us to high quality Digital Photography, so I began my search for the perfect addition to my camera bag, and decided on the Pentax *ist Ds after much deliberating. The deciding factor was the amazing picture of a young lady, taken with the camera, that was an incredible 3008 by 2008 pixels, which displayed on my very high resolution desk top, so beautifully, I just had to get the camera. Without difficulty, I could individual pores, on her face, tiny hairs shown in perfect detail, and this was not from a close up picture - not at all, it was from a half body portrait.