Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-08-2012, 10:15 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
I need/want a new camera.

Hi, without all of the details, which can be mind boggling, I have three possibilities. First off, I'm looking for a super zoom pocket camera. [20X optical zoom] my old Canon has 4X zoom. Does anyone here have any experiences with these or other recommendations. My old Canon uses AA batteries and the new cameras use rechargeable batteries and have reports of short life.

I'm looking at Canon, Panasonic, and Sony.

Canon SX 260 12.1 MP 20X optical zoom.

Panasonic Lumix ZS20 14.1 MP 20X optical zoom.

Sony Cybershot DSC HX30 V 18.1 MP 20X optical zoom.
Attached Images

YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 10:37 PM   #2
1 Rivet Member

Idyllwild , California
I am a pro photographer and I keep a Canon g1x in my bag. Great back up if my main rig goes south. I can still get the image I need for my clients.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	frontpage.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	137.8 KB
ID:	162757  
Idyllwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 10:41 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari
St. Augustine , Florida
Now this is right down my alley. Yes I can help but better than that, I can give you a resource that will help you pick http://www.steves-digicams.com/best-cameras.htmlhttp://

This guy classifiies cameras into groups and price ranges and has detailed reviews on the cameras along with sample shots from the cameras. Real detail but also gets down to basic performance. What I do is look through the categories and find duplicate models scoring high and focus in on them. I found two of your picks on the site so far. Check it out. Note all the work he puts into this.
rodsterinfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 10:48 PM   #4
INSANITY CENTRAL