Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-20-2009, 03:11 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Missoula , Montana
Red face 1959 Flying Cloud???

I got her!!! I'm a newbie and she's brand new to me. My first. I looked high and low form craig's list to every classified ad I could find and ended up knocking on the door of a man right near home...the airstream was not for sale but after a few visits and about 8 hours of being shown all his other projects (there were a lot, and they were cool) he decided to let this project go. There are a couple funny question about her that I would love some help figuring out. First is finding out all I can from the serial # it is 22D-0264, and below that there is another # 659 stamped into the plate near the door on the exterior. The PO was pretty sure it is a 1959 Flying cloud. I think he's right, but I'm not positive. I think the "D" is for the double bed model which jives and the "0" means its California made. Is there a way to know for sure which 22' model it is? I figue the second question will be subject to Montana laws...but I have the current MT registration and title which states that this Airstream is a 1969, and I know enough to know that it could not be...it has leaf springs on the single axel, seven panels and the beautiful door within a door feature. I hope to get it changed, but don't know if thats possible. I will post some pictures tonight...but in the mean time if anyone has any suggestions I'd appreciate it.

Thanks
Tyler
Windy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 03:55 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 27' Overlander
Tucson , AZ
Only suggestion is to luv her! What a find.
funkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 04:48 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1959 22' Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Seattle , Washington
VintageAirstream.com agrees you have a '59 Flying Cloud, California made with a double bed.

59FC