Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-15-2014, 08:07 PM   #1

Jacksonville , Florida
Endcap skin dents - how repairable?

I'm new to Airstreams and am interested in purchasing one for our family. While looking, I've come across a '67 Caravel which has some skin damage. The owner states the dents are in two panels and they have the replacement panels. I'm not sure if they are the "correct" panels or not at this point. I'm fairly handy, but I'd like to know how much is involved before I get too far along with this one. Sorry, this is the only photo I have available at the moment - I've not viewed the Caravel in person yet, as it's not close to me.

Also, I noticed the wheel well is an odd shape. I'm assuming this may have been a "repair" from an axle failure. Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Zach
ZH904 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 01:19 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1956 22' Safari
2015 27' Flying Cloud
Vintage Kin Owner
Conifer/Evergreen , Colorado
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f91/...tml#post561358First off, if you don't already know, there are several different kinds of rivets. Here's the difference between the rivets typically used on Airstreams:

Bucked Rivets - Solid and strong - BUT, you must have access to both sides of the rivet in order to install them. Also, in most cases, a second person to help install them. These are the kind that were originally used on your Airstream exterior.
Olympic Rivets - three legged with heads that look like solid bucked rivets, if they are shaved properly - can be installed w/o removing interior panels. These are often used as replacements for bucked rivets when you don't want to or can't dismantled your entire interior to access the back side of the panels being riveted. Not as strong as bucked but strong enough for most small repair projects and/or non-structural uses.