Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-13-2019, 09:21 AM   #1

1976 29' Ambassador
Winnipeg , Manitoba
Damaged Rib and end cap on 76 Ambassador 29

Hi there, been lurking in the forum a bit and this is my first post.

I have my new to me 76 Ambassador 29' gutted and interior skins off. There was water getting in and needs have everything checked, will be removing the floor next.

I am looking for some advice on replacing damaged rib and panel. The rear most curb side rib is pretty messed up and the end cap is badly dimpled. There has been a previous repair made from the outside of the trailer.

Where might I look for a replacement rib and or end cap panel? what sort of cost am I looking at if I am doing the labour myself? Is taking the panel to an autobody shop to get the dents rolled out a practical option?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190512_175746.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	156.6 KB
ID:	340624   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190512_173714.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	199.6 KB
ID:	340625  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190512_173721.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	157.0 KB
ID:	340626   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190512_152521.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	249.3 KB
ID:	340627  

cat_sassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 10:21 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1967 26' Overlander
Bugtussle , Oklahoma
The Rib-