Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-27-2011, 02:56 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2008 22' Sport
Green Mountains , Vermont
Car wash scratches

I tried searching. Figured this has been discussed before and I am not using the right search terms.

Picked up our new 2008 Safari Sport 22 this weekend. The dealer washed it before we picked it up. Just noticed all of these swirly scratches on the curb side. They weren't there before. He used one of those car wash foaming bristle brushes. Manual says go with the grain from one end to the other. Apparently he did circles.

I'm new to all of this. Do you think it's only in the clearcoat? Is there an easy fix?

thanks!
nesvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 03:16 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2006 19' Safari
Irvine , California
Try going over it with Walbernize Super Seal, if they still show up hit them with a very light compound like Griot's Fine Hand Polish.
Johnco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 03:25 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1973 31' Excella 500
Marysville , Washington
Ask the dealer how HE wants to handle it.
Not Done is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 03:39 PM   #4
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Thumbs up Griot's Garage

Quote:
Originally Posted by nesvt View Post
I tried searching. Figured this has been discussed before and I am not using the right search terms.