Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-11-2015, 08:40 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1968 30' Sovereign
New Richmond , Wisconsin
Aluminum vent stack caps for 1968 Sovereign

I need some advice on installing these vent stack caps on my "new" 1968 31" Sovereign. I understand that the old style vent caps are notorius for being the instigators of numerous leaks. I found these spun aluminum vent caps, and am going to replace the three original ( two in the back washroom and the one above the kitchen sink), probably leaking vent stack caps with these spun aluminum caps.

As I am new to this, I am asking for advice on how to install these caps. Do I bed them in some butyl putty up there? OR - Do I use TemPro 644 to adhere them to the roof and seal them? OR - do I bed them in the butyl putty and then seal the perimeter with the TemPro? Any advise given would be greatly appreciated.

I am hoping that replacing the current vent stack caps with these aluminum ones will go a long way in insuring additional leaks do not come from that source!

Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9939.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	184.0 KB
ID:	240474   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9940.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	158.7 KB
ID:	240475  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9941.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	149.4 KB
ID:	240476   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9942.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	181.0 KB
ID:	240477  

cheetah1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 09:27 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1967 22' Safari
MILAN , Illinois
Hey Great!