Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-20-2016, 01:40 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
St. Louis , Missouri
Newbie here...would love some insight

Hi!

My hubby and I have been looking for a camper/trailer for about a year. We have always wanted an Airstream but hadn't been able to find one at a price we could afford that wasn't in need of a lot of renovation.

I have located a 1968 Airstream Overlander. The folks who own it have done a good job redoing it (or looks so by the pictures). Has new floors, new tires, new lights, windows sealed, no leaks, all appliances work, new mattress/foam, painted. Body looks nice.

However, they have said the trailer still needs the following:

1.) Several windows fixed (the previous owner replaced some glass with plexiglass) replaced.
2.) Has a new toilet but needs some plumbing done for installation
3.) Has no AC. Will need AC
4.) "Original aluminum propane tanks that can be converted to use" (not sure what that even means?
5.) dent in front corner
6.) no keys

They are asking $8200 but willing to deal. Is this a fair price?

I have looked up the value on NADA which has it listed at $2200. But doesn't indicate value of renovated one. I have never seen an asking price of $2200.

I realize I don't know. So I thought I would ask you guys what you think of the price and also a general idea of what the still required repairs will cost me. What is a good price for this trailer?

I have included some of the pics for it.

Thanks for your time. I want to be sure we are getting a good trailer at a fair price. I don't wanna just buy it because it's an Airstream and so cute....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	airstream.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	261069   Click image for larger version

Name:	airstream2.jpg
Views:	293
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	261070  

wanabairstrm is offline   Reply With Quote