Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-25-2015, 07:02 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1976 25' Tradewind
Tallahassee , Florida
Going to go inspect a '68 Overlander tomorrow

It's the first time one has popped up so close to home - there's another one floating around in nearby cities but it's at a slightly higher price tag.

My original goal was to purchase before my 25th birthday, which is in less than two weeks. I've been saving and shopping for one for about 6 months now!

I'm going into Fort Pierce tomorrow morning (7:30 am!) so that I can get back to my job after seeing it. I'm hoping to get a good look at the visible bits of the frame and the floor to see if it's worth buying. I really hope it is, because it's the exact make and model I originally wanted and within spitting distance at home which makes getting it towed home MUCH easier on the schedule AND the budget.

I'm really crossing my fingers that this is it. I'm so over the shopping... I want to be FIXING.

Any advice on transferring the title, doing a bill of sale, how to pay, anything like that... never purchased something this large or for this much money EVER. It's a little intimidating.
Old 07-25-2015, 07:55 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 27' Overlander
Portsmouth , Virginia
Good luck with the trailer. Try not to be rushed to do your inspection, you really need a good hour or more to go through it and look for staining on the edges of the subfloor by the walls and underneath cabinets. You dont mention what they are asking for it, but assuming its something in original, unmolested or unrestored condition, then its a 47 year old trailer down in Florida, which in my book, doesn't bode well for leaks, rot and rust. Get underneath it and look at everything and borrow a ladder and get up and look at the roof. Look for anything and everything.