Old 02-06-2004, 06:45 PM   #1
RivetAddict

1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Louisville , Kentucky
Interior Aluminum

OK...so stripping the vinyl from the interior is not going so well. I've ordered samples from both a specialty vinyl stripper company and Napier as a last resort but at the current pace of removal it will take approximately FOREVER to get this blasted vinyl off.

At this point I’ve begun to realistically consider re-skinning the interior rather than continuing with my stripping project. I have some experience with riveted aluminum (buck riveted not pop) in aircraft interiors so the job is not too intimidating but the prices for .32 2024 Alclad were!

It would be roughly $5,000 to skin the inside of the 345. Ouch!!!!!!!!!!

All of a sudden I like that vinyl again.

I also found 3003H-14 SOFT ALUMINUM SHEET from Aircraft Spruce for $66.00 for a 4' x 12' sheet which would be much cheaper and I think easier to handle and install.

Anyone have advice on this type of aluminum. It’s only to be used as interior skin replacing the Vinyl Clad interior aluminum.

Since we’re trying to mimic the CCD/Interstate interior skins in the 345 we want something that has a good shine but does not need to be a mirror finish (something like Home Depot flashing would work).

I just don't know if the interior skins works as the inside of coach’s sandwich or shell; stiffening the ribs and exterior skin, thus requiring 2024.

swebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 06:56 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
Tampa Bay , ^
I added some flashing from Lowes to the backsplash of my trailer. Looks just like the CCD aluminum. Easy to work. I cut out the outlet hole with a razor knife.

20" x 10' long for around $7.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ccd2.jpg
Views:	1151
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	4721  

Sneakinup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 07:35 PM   #3
Site Team

, Minnesota
Aluminum