Old 03-31-2010, 07:01 PM   #1
AluminumGirl

1976 29' Ambassador
Malibu , California
Question Bedroom/Bathroom Wall Replacement

I'm a newbie and have taken on a '76 Ambassador. Among the many other projects within the project, I am thinking of replacing the wall between the center bathroom and the bedroom to accommodate the weight of a TV. Any guidance is GREATLY appreciated!

Old 03-31-2010, 07:07 PM   #2
Site Team

1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Welcome to airforums,com, AluminumGirl! We eagerly await pictures of your new-to-you trailer! (we are photo-mad here )

Minds far greater than my mere mortal one may advise you differently here, but in the meanwhile, what makes you feel that the wall will not support a TV?

I only ask because the wall between the bedroom and kitchen in my TT (travel trailer, one of our charming acronyms) supports my 19" TV, the satellite box, as well as a DVD player with only two bolts through it...

Most of the support brackets I have seen give good strong connections to the wall they sit on.

Old 04-01-2010, 03:40 PM   #3
AluminumGirl

1976 29' Ambassador
Malibu , California
Thank you for the reply. I think that the original wall might hold the TV etc, but it looks like a slasher occupied my AS at one time and had his way with this wall. There are several places through out the trailer that have what appears to be knife gouges. The original wall is so thin, I thought replacing it with a new hardwood wall, would not only be stronger, but prettier too.
I am hoping t reuse the metal strip that attached the original wall to the skin.
Old 04-01-2010, 03:53 PM   #4
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Florissant , USA