Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-06-2009, 05:19 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1975 31' Excella 500
Amherst , Virginia
AirDrapes 101

Recently I have had a chance to really examine closely some Airstream drapes (many thanx to BillTex!!) off of the windows and examine how they were made, and I thought I'd share a few observations. In a previous life I was an interior designer and owned a store with drapery workroom and have had extensive experience with window treatments. These are traditional pinch-pleats, but the difference of course is that the pleats parallel each other on the top AND the bottom edge. They are smaller pleats than normal, but the size of the pleat is determined by the material used (the sheerer the fabric, the more fabric you put in the pleat for a lux look, while you make a less full pleat in thicker fabrics to reduce bulk). By keeping the pleat scant, besides making them cheaper to produce, Airstream is keeping the folds smaller and therefore also the projection into the cabin will be smaller....and also, short windows call for shorter pleats to maintain the proportion!