Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-29-2011, 06:43 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1970 25' Tradewind
Currently Looking...
Van Nuys , California
Travel and storage

I am new to air streaming. I haven't even taken delivery of my new unit. However, a local friend and long time motorhome owner told us of a possibility that we had not thought of. Perhaps some of you might know of such a thing. At any rate, he said, "if you find a place that you like, they might have storage facilities there which would enable you to leave the trailer there and you could call them in advance of your coming and they will bring it out of storage and put it on a pad for you." Has anyone ever heard of such a thing. And if you have, please share that with us. Thank you.

Pilgrimsoul
Pilgrimsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 06:52 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2010 25' FB Flying Cloud
Davenport , Iowa
We belong to a resort campground that has different levels of membership. One level is for those that will only camp different times ofthe season, the campground has a storage lot in which to leave ones unit. When one is coming to camp, the CG will locate your trailer on a pre selected site. All of this for $$$$.
The other levels are permenant and "vagabon"
Airtandem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 04:25 AM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

1993 34' Excella
York , South Carolina
Don't know how common it is, but I know of 2 campgrounds in our area that will store your unit, then pull it out to a site for you upon request. $$$ involved. One charges for both services, the other only for the storage. Don't forget: Airstreams are designed & built for travel. They don't do well sitting still. Keep moving my friend.