Old 01-24-2008, 07:05 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2014 25' International
2006 23' Safari SE
Currently Looking...
Boulder City , Nevada
Oregon Trail 1849-2009 Airstreaming

I follow the Western Boondocking forum, but understand that not everyone reads all of the Boondocking forums. This idea also includes those of you living in the Mid West. If you would add your "gold nuggets" of advice, it would be greatly appreciated.

The Oregon Trail has been well researched, marked with monuments and many people today visit the important stops along the trail on vacations. The trail began in Independence and Westport, Missouri and ended near Dalles, Oregon or Oregon City for the historians. The trail begins in Missouri and crosses the states of Kansas, Nebraska, Wyoming, Idaho and finishes in Oregon. A total of 1,819 to 1,930 miles as the "trail flies" and the particular route taken.

I am a geologist. Not an American historian, but rocks and the wagon wheel are bonded to eternity with the ruts cut into the fields and bluffs of the American West. Nancy and I have visited scattered points in Missouri, Wyoming and Idaho in our travels of the Oregon Trail/Mormon Trail/Pony Express/California Trail. I imagine our trailer not much different than the covered wagon, without the livestock pulling and the smell of hot canvas. O.K. lets drop the comparison.

I would find this modern retracing of the Oregon Trail in Airstream trailers a bit of a modern challenge. Although the possibility of Indians looking for their toll to cross their land is diminished some, there still is much adventure left to experience. And traveling among a group of Rockdocking Airstreamers and other trailers could be an excellent excuse to get off the highway and experience the discovering our American heritage.