Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-20-2017, 11:36 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2017 23' Flying Cloud
Parker , Colorado
My Solar Boondocking Upgrade Journey - Part 1

I am starting a thread on my journey to install my own solar system for a new AS. I hope this helps others along their journey. NOTE: this is not a "how to thread", more of a documentation of how i did it. The thought process I went through, where I purchased stuff, and who and how I got help. YMMV.

In this first Part, an introduction to give background, and how I educated myself.

introduction
I am new to owning a camper, but not to camping. An avid backpacker, and tent camper, I have spent many nights alone or with family in the woods, off grid. As I turn 50 this year, I am just plain tired of sleeping on the ground, in a cot, and just planning, packing everything up and unpacking for a family of six (kids 7, 11, 17, 18).

So we bought a 2017 Flying Cloud 23D, with two kids in college, we can fit everyone, and if necessary use a tent for the older girls (they are still young and can handle the ground).

Since we love to be off grid, I decided to do a major solar upgrade as well, thus the purpose of this thread I am starting. To Document and show my journey in adding solar to the system.

I'm a civil engineer, and an avid do-it-your-selfer. From rebuilding furnaces, washer and dryers, working in manufacturing facilities with large industrial machines, cars, trucks, and a complete 2500 sq ft remodel in a house (electrical, plumbing, framing, etc), I have done just about everything, so I consider myself a competent person with decent skills to perform electrical and plumbing work on an AS safely.