Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-30-2018, 06:54 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1961 26' Overlander
Cayce , South Carolina
is an generator wit an inverter necessary??

Good morning!!
I am new to this camping stuff and we need a generator to run the ac 13,500 btu. Thinking about a Champion 3500 watt generator but was wondering if we really needed the built in inverter. I will link to what I am looking at.

https://www.championpowerequipment.c...att-generator/

The generator will not be used in camp grounds just at home. I think I can buy generator cheaper than having an electrician run a shore power package at my home.

Thanks
Sean
Buzz1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 05:52 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2011 22' Sport
Portland , Oregon
If this is purely for use at home, don't forget about the time/effort of maintaining a small gas engine, cost of repair/replacement, etc when comparing it to the cost of getting a hardwired 30-amp receptacle installed. I don't know about where you live, but I live in a urban area and having a contractor generator running would make me very familiar with my neighbors, but not in the way I'd prefer.