Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-19-2011, 06:17 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Hutchinson , Minnesota
How many days on batteries?

My wife and I are complete newbies about to take our first lengthy trip in the AS and definitely want to spend some of that time off the grid. We are wondering how long we can expect to get by on battery power alone and whether we should bring a generator/inverter with us. We have a 2006 19' Bambi with all LED's. Since we aren't TV watchers and don't need to use 110 appliances, our only electrical draw should be lights, water pump and, most likely, some furnace use. (Montana mountains at night...) We are sailors, so we know how to conserve resources.

I'm considering buying a 1000W (I like the light weight) Honda to bring just to charge the batteries, if the advice I receive warrants it. If I do, how long would I need to run it to get a good charge back on the batteries?

Any help?
hipsters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 06:32 PM   #2
airperson

2006 25' Classic
Ft Worth , Texas
Hipsters, I am sure glad you asked that question I would like to know as well...
Airperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 06:41 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1978 28' Ambassador
Morada , California
This is an age-old 'How far is up?' question...

It's similar to asking: I just picked up a clean used car - with a full tank of gas, how long will it last - how many miles can I go - what's my MPG going to be???

How big is the tank? How fast do you drive? Do you drive up hill very far? Do you tow anything, etc., etc...

The 12 volt battery is, simply put, an Amp Hour storage 'tank'...the larger the battery, the more Amp Hrs are available to use...