Old 04-21-2013, 09:06 PM   #1
Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Metairie , Louisiana
How Long Can One Boondock?

I am new to Airstreaming, how long can you go with out being hooked up to electric and sewer before system failure?

Rougarou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 09:21 PM   #2
Rivet Master
1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia
It depends!

Electric is not a problem. I can go about a week before I recharge my batteries if I am only operating LED lights, the water pump and a cooling fan some of the time. I carry a 1000w genny for recharging the batteries.

I have a porta potty, so I can just dump it in a toilet when it is time.

If I am truly boondocking, like in the boonies, I just drain my gray water onto the ground.

I will need water though. I carry a spare 40 gal water tank in my truck for refilling the Airstream water tank.

TouringDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 11:10 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member
1999 25' Safari
On , the road
If there is no water source available and dumping the grey on the ground is not an option, the two of us with a dog can last ~7 days, but we normally keep it to 5.

If we have access to potable water. Either via a campground or in-town spigot or a fill station at a store. We can go about 10-12 days before the black tank is at capacity. If we really needed to stretch that, we can do two weeks.
Our Adventure..
timmaah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 07:42 AM   #4
retired USA/USAF

2001 30' Excella
Somerset , New Jersey