Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-07-2013, 11:20 PM   #1
worried...happy...wo...ha

2015 25' FB International
Menlo Park , California
Fuel cell power

I am a Newbie and just getting settled about hitches etc for my new Tv (on order) for my 2014 FC.
The one and only upgrade thus far for my FC is a dual 70w = 140w solar and Morningstar charge/controller.
Because my TV is not going to be a truck (planning to tow the American dream withe the German dream), I cannot store a generator with fuel and fumes in the trunk of our new cayenne.
So, a thought (admittedly after a bottle of a good cab) is that a fuel cell might be the choice for situations when our 140w solar is not able to keep up with the energy demands. We plan to use the fridge, water pump, led lights, as well as the TV and stereo for 3-4 h - TV is running on the inverter.

Anyone out there with fuel cell experience, recommendations???
Knuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 03:59 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2012 30' International
1997 25' Safari
1967 20' Globetrotter
Burlington , Ontario
Fuel cell, Ballard Power, equals bad short term investment. But I really like the propensity for Californians to be progressive thinkers. Solar is terrific and you should be ok if you run the fridge on propane. Jim
Old 11-08-2013, 04:36 PM   #3
retired USA/USAF

2001 30' Excella
Somerset , New Jersey
I'm not sure about your space available but I see some users are finding generators that run on propane. No worries about gas in the vehicle but it would, of course, require regular propane refills. Something to think on. An external fitting in the propane line would make it easy.

" Democracy is the worst form of government. Except for all the rest"