Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-03-2010, 06:20 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Ottawa , Ontario
Driveway living?

Hi everyone, just wondering if anyone has done a decent amount of driveway camping. i don't have an AS yet, but when i get one i'd imagine i'll be doing a lot of it once i have one.

i have been saving up for a trailer for the past 6 months and have about $7000. will need about double that. reason for buying the trailer is for a cheaper alternative to renting (i'm a college student and paying $1000 a month on rent seems useless to me, i'd rather my money be going into something).

now i know absolutely nothing about it driveway camping, since i've never done it! what do you need? how is electricity set up. can you set sewage/water up? how hard is it to do all this? ANY and ALL help would be much appreciated. please give details if possible! thanks so much!
shannabanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 07:29 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1972 25' Tradewind
North Vancouver , British Columbia
Unless you're going to university someplace with much milder winters than Ottawa, I'd suggest you do a search on these forums about winter living in an Airstream. These aren't four season trailers and getting prepared for winter living takes considerable research and preparation. The propane costs alone for heating the trailer through a winter are considerable.
cameront120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 08:15 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2017 30' Flying Cloud
2008 23' International
Keremeos , British Columbia