Old 08-31-2007, 04:17 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2014 25' International
2006 23' Safari SE
Currently Looking...
Boulder City , Nevada
Boondocking the Rockdocking

My wife, two Blue Heelers and myself are avid out doors people. Retired from the work week, we also retired the tent camping for a 23 foot, 2006 Safari LS, with a solar panel on the roof. I must give credit to our 2006 Toyota Tundra 4.7 liter, 4 wheel drive as well. And to be honest, we do not miss the tent. Sorry college buddies. We call it Rockdocking.

To move onward. As a retired geologist, my sense of boondocking takes on a different definition. My friends with trailers find a campground with power and water and they are Boondocking. Our style of rockdocking requires a bit of effort and more of LESS amenities. We cannot camp at all of the locations we found with a tent and a 4 wheel drive vehicle, but only your skill at picking a road and driving skills limit most of your options. Toss the campground directories behind the back seat. Open up your DeLorme (or similar map atlas) Atlas & Gazetteer and tighten your seat belts. You and your Airstream CAN handle the roads of the Western United States, when caution and common sense are in equal measure. Even the most remote roads and trails can be travelled.

The limiting factor on the 23 foot Safari LS are the undersized tires. The 215/14 inch tires are much too light a tire with 30 gallons of water, empty grey/black water, full food provisions and tool sets. A stone can puncture through the 1 ply of steel belting. I have Power Max with two steel plies that have ended my tire troubles from day one. I would recommend a D rated tire, but none are available here for 14 inch rims.