Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-08-2015, 08:45 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1965 20' Globetrotter
Taos , New Mexico
Boondocking - Ketchum, ID & Bend, OR areas?

We're going to be on the road next week and traveling thru Idaho and Oregon and are looking for suggestions for boondocking locations in the the Ketchum/Sun Valley area and Cascade area west of Bend, Oregon. We have a 20' GlobeTrotter and can manage less than improved areas in the interests of avoiding crowds, but I have no knowledge of these areas, having visited this region of the Cascades nearly 20 years ago, and never the Sun Valley area. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Chris
Thinair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 09:27 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2002 30' Classic S/O
Garden Valley , Idaho
Some great places just north of Sun Valley, in the Stanley Basin. I highly recommend Pettit Lake or Alturas Lake as a great spot. That area is high altitude, so bring your coats, but it warms up in the 70's during the day. Redfish Lake is mostly tourists, so I would pass on that one. Many places to camp along the Salmon River going towards Challis and Salmon, Idaho. Highway 75 is one of the most scenic roads in the US, IMHO.

Jordan Valley in Oregon also has some nice areas that are out of the way. Go from Sun Valley to Boise, then on to Silver City, a semi-ghost town that still has a small population and places to camp. Then you can cross the mountain to Jordan Valley, Oregon and on to Bend. Great time of year, have fun.

Pap
2002 Airstream Classic 30' w/SO #2074
2007 Kubota 900 RTV
1996 Ford Bronco
2007 Lincoln LT
pappy19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 11:59 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2016 26' Flying Cloud
2016 25' Flying Cloud