Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Ribs, Skins & Rivets
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-09-2011, 01:03 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1986 31' Sovereign
Naples , Florida
Rivets for awning leaking = $$

I'm very new to AS and thought I had a great deal when I got a lovely older (86) AS. Now that rainy season is here in SW Florida I'm not so sure. I thought that the vents just needed re-sealing but got a call from "Camping World" (my only service option that I know of in the area) says I have a fairly labor intensive resealing of the awning rivets, that will likely cost better than $1,000 (full awning both sides). I'm having the work done because it pours rain daily now & I'm very busy with work. So to try and do it myself with no AS experience, not a wise choice.

A question for you wise and experienced Airstreamers, are there other things I should be looking at to seal, re-do update or replace that I might be able to do at a more leisurely and affordable pace? I'm sure the list is potentially unending, I'm just wondering what pops in your head first.
captmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 01:58 PM   #2
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by captmatt View Post