Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-12-2015, 08:35 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1973 27' Overlander
Little Compton , Rhode Island
Rivets and tools

I'm just beginning restoration of 1972 27' Overlander. A total newbie. I need to rivet some hinges and trim on a couple of the outer compartments. Where should I get them and what should I get for Rivets and tools. I am familiar with simple riveting from my younger years doing gutter installs and basics from Metal Shop in school.
There is a pretty good Industrial fastener company nearby. Should I buy from them, I'm just not sure what I need. Maybe there is a kit that has what I need. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks. Jim O'Connor
jwo9958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 09:17 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1971 27' Overlander
Dickinson , North Dakota
If you want to be sure just go to Vintage Trailer Supply's website and get them there. If you can not access the back to buck in rivets then you will need some sort of blind rivet, either pop or olympic. If you get pop rivets locally just make sure they have aluminum heads and aluminum mandrels. Olympic rivets are used to duplicate the exterior appearance of a bucked rivet if you are replacing any on the skin that may have disappeared. They do need to be shaved and dressed up to complete the appearance though.

Most likely for trim and various bits you'll need standard blind pop rivets. The size you will need will have to be determined when you drill the old ones out and see what size hole you are left with.

Good luck!

Ms. Streamy - 1971 Overlander Restoration Blog
chilipepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 09:22 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas