Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Ribs, Skins & Rivets
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-07-2016, 11:01 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Reno , Nevada
Replacing exterior rivets?

Hello! I am a total newbie working on a 1963 Tradewind, and taking it down to pretty bare bones. I recently saw the post about testing for leaky rivets, should I test and replace all rivets that don't hold up to the suction cup test that I was just reading about, or should I just be replacing them in leaky areas? Haven't really started much exterior stuff yet, just want to be prepared... it helps keep me from going crazy...
kmtanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 09:16 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 25' Sovereign
2008 F350, 6.4L diesel , Oak Harbor, WA
Sounds like when you have the internal skins off you can leak test with water from the outside on everything. Don't know how many leaky rivets there are compared to leaks from penetrations, but the latter is what most folks talk about.
sgschwend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 09:45 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 31' Sovereign
1979 23' Safari
Wayland , New York
"... it helps keep me from going crazy..."

You're well on your way if you've undertaken this venture!
HiJoeSilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 10:15 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Replacing exterior rivets?

When you are dealing with Airstreams, sanity is A) optional and B) highly overrated.

***twitch***

Sent from my pocket Internet using Airstream Forums
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 11:02 PM   #5
Rivet Puller

2003 28' Safari S/O
Atlanta Burbs , Georgia