Old 09-26-2013, 07:44 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1969 21' Globetrotter
Dexter , Michigan
question about trimming new panels

New to us 1969 Airstream 21 Land Yacht. For panels were damaged in the back, so I bought all four from Inland, being Nos. 2, 19, 1 and 20.

The panels are pre-drilled at the bottom of panels 2, 19 and 20 (with the center-top panel (No. 1) being pre-drilled on both sides, or bottoms).

All panel are somewhat bigger than those I removed from the trailer. Its obvious that one has to trim back each panel for length, so that it fit up to the rear window. What's not so obvious to me is whether one has to, or should, trim panel Nos. 2, 19, and 20 for height, there being about 1.5 inches of extra material where they meet the rib, and about 2.5 where they meet the window. It would seem that the extra overlap wouldn't hurt, might even help, but I'm no engineer, so I could be wrong about that.

Anyone have a similar issue or have information on the right way to do it. In my attached photo I have the old panel laid out over the inside of the new one, using the old one as a template for the new one.

Photos attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0009.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	262.2 KB
ID:	196430   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0026.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	279.8 KB
ID:	196431  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0022.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	225.7 KB
ID:	196432  

Old 09-29-2013, 11:09 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1971 21' Globetrotter
Arvada , Colorado