Old 10-19-2014, 10:01 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Mantua , Ohio
Opinions on fixing this dent

I got my 61' Ambassador in my shop Friday evening. The first project, fixing this dent (The rest of the camper has just maybe 10 small dings plus normal stone dings up front). I can get it out with my air driven suction cup dent puller, but I will need to use some leverage from the back to make it stay.
I am changing the Furnace with either new, or newer and the water heater for a new tankless, so I will have those openings to deal with as well.
I think I can get it out with some pressure from the back as pulling from the front. Maybe even drill some holes lined up with above rivet and use those points to pull from, then just fill with the fake Buck rivets.
If I can get it really straight, I'll just deal with the deep scratches. If it's not straight enough, I'm considering some kind of strip, or a diamond plate strip kind of thing.
Or am I better off just changing the panel? Or changing the panel just up to that first major rivet line and tuck under there, not having to deal with the windows? And assuming I went that rout, where would I get the panel? Should I just buy the stock and make it? And is it ok to use those fake buck rivets?
Any opinions on how to handle this?
Note. This dent, the axles and the polishing is the worst of the project. The rest if it will be fun for me personally.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1171.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	183.3 KB
ID:	224726   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1173.jpg
Views:	194
Size:	180.9 KB
ID:	224727  

Old 10-19-2014, 10:28 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas

Here was my solution for hiding dents.

I know it isn't for everyone, but it worked for me.

I used bedliner (black) only on the bottom after straightening the aluminum, and I used a little body filler under the red after straightening the aluminum.