Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-08-2010, 11:28 AM   #1

1973 Argosy 24
Berkeley , California
Novice with a dumb question - using sheet metal on an Argosy

Hi...novice here and new to the group. I have a '73 Argosy we will use and an art studio in the back yard. Previous owner had gutted the interior and used plywood panels to cover access panels to the outside (under sink, etc.)

I have patched these and other holes (including holes in the roof where the pipes used to vent) using galvanized sheet metal purchased from my local hardware store, silicone, and pop rivets (both alum and steel.)

When bragging about how well this went to my father he told me mixing sheet metal and aluminum in a no-no. Doh! Do I need to re-do everything?

When I look for info about corrosion I get all kinds of answers but no timeframe ... will this start to leak in five years or fifty? This is not a true restoration, I won't be using the trailer as a camper and I'm probably going to have this thing for no more than ten years.

Suggestions and/or browbeating welcome.
Eschenbacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 11:36 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
First, welcome to the forum. I will agree with your father that it is not a good idea to mix types of metals because of galvanic corrosion, but will not forecast how long it will last. It will vary depending on temperature, humidity, and if there is any current flowing thru the metal as in a ground system.

If it were mine, I'd redo the patches with aluminum sheet, which you can get from the same hardware store as aluminum valley tin.
Old 05-08-2010, 12:29 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

Belington , West Virginia