Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Ribs, Skins & Rivets
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-23-2015, 06:59 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1976 23' Safari
Hillsborough , New Hampshire
Need guidance on rivet kit and supplies

I am brand new to Airstreams and the idea of riveting, so PLEASE bear with me.

I have a 1976 Safari that I will need to pop out all the windows. This way I can remove the old rotted weather stripping and put new ones in. The pictures detail the areas I will be working on. Including a dent that will be repaired, though probably not this year unless I have the time to get to it.

I just received the "Airstream Buck Riveting Kit" from Vintage Trailer Supply thinking this was what I needed. Now as I look through the contents, I am not so sure. The kit does not contain any Olympic rivets only buck rivets. (Hence the name, right?)

In the service manual, on page 2-18 it states there are 2 types of Olympic rivets:

Thickness:
0.50 to .150 XA 4167-2
.151 to .250 XA 4167-5

There is also mention made for an Olympic Hook Gauge, which I do not have and cannot find anywhere online.

So the questions I have at this point are:
Did I in fact get the correct rivet kit?
Will I need a combination of buck and Olympic rivets for the job at hand?
Where can I get the Olympic Hook Gauge mentioned?

I am also realizing that I will need to probably get a shaver as well, unless told otherwise. One of the pictures shows rivets that were not shaved.

Any and all help would be appreciated on this matter. Thank you.

Jim
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DX023-325.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	89.7 KB
ID:	236907   Click image for larger version

Name:	DX023-329.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	162.0 KB
ID:	236908