Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

View Poll Results: What color would you cover you interior in
Cognac 2 66.67%
Black 0 0%
Shade of Blue 1 33.33%
All White 0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

Old 08-30-2014, 10:13 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 27' Overlander
Lake Forest , Illinois
Question Did I Goof?

Complete Newbie here -

Restore cars - never an Airstream, but am completely enjoying the experience.

I have one or two fairly significant scratches in my 1972 Overlander Land Yacht. I used 600 grit sandpaper (for 5 minutes at most) on the scratch - thinking that I could move up on the grit level to blend the scratch.

Then I realized that I could/might have removed some of the coating - as the area I sanded became lighter than the area I was already buffing.

Can I repair this - or do I need a new panel? I am going to try to buff it out with Nuvite today - and see what it looks like.

If a new panel is needed, I'll do that as well.

Can post a picture after I work on it again today.

Also, does anyone sell kits - or parts of kits, that fit into Airstreams - you know - couches, bunks, sinks, bathrooms. Haven't found a one on line - might be a business I'd consider starting (serial entrepreneur).

Thanks so much for helping me through this exciting restoration.

Also, - I want to add solar to my unit and A/C, in fact, will be replacing all of the major mechanicals - so if anyone could recommend the preferred vendors, I'd be thankful.

Ok, back to polishing.

Paul
PJBWFG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 10:41 AM   #2
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJBWFG View Post
Complete Newbie here -

Restore cars - never an Airstream, but am completely enjoying the experience.