Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Ribs, Skins & Rivets
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-06-2012, 06:38 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2014 25' FB International
Little Rock , Arkansas
Can this skin damage be repaired

I have been searching for my first AS (I've been researching and looking for almost a year but I have never owned one), and I've come across one that fits the bill. It's an early 80's twin model (light enough I can pull it and I can add bunk beds above the twins for our kids). It has some body damage, and since I'm new to AS I wasn't sure if this could be repaired or if the panels would have to be replaced??? I would love to have early 80's since it's about as new as I can go and still meet my requirements. However, I think there are plenty of AS's available that have good shells/skins.

Thanks for your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FrontofTrailer1.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	312.1 KB
ID:	164948   Click image for larger version

Name:	FrontofTRailer5.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	284.2 KB
ID:	164949  

Click image for larger version

Name:	BackofTrailer2.jpg
Views:	201
Size:	367.1 KB
ID:	164950   Click image for larger version

Name:	BackofTrailer4.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	199.7 KB
ID:	164951  

Landrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 07:06 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2010 28' Flying Cloud
Lower Alabama , USA
The panels would have to be replaced. They are available, the issue is the cost of the panel and then the labor to get them installed unless you are a "do it yourselfer". I have no specific experience with this other than looking into it when I was considering buying a trailer that had significant hail damage.