Old 09-03-2010, 02:34 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Bedford , Texas
Can I fix this almost new Airstream body damage myself?

I have found a late model Airstream that I would like to buy and repair. I am very capable of the type of repairs that might be needed but I have no experience with buying the replacement parts for Airstreams. The trailer is almost new and has rear end damage that will require replacement of the lower right rear panels and the adjacent window frame and door frames pictured. There is no floor or subframe damage to the trailer.

For those of you that may have done something along this line or researched such a repair, how costly might the parts be.? And, how easily available are they if I want to do the work myself?

Could someone give me a ballpark on parts cost and hours of labor possible to complete the repair in a workman like manner? I can't take this unit to a dealer for any kind of quote. So, I have to guesstimate this on my own. Any comments would be welcome.

I'm near retirement and don't want to pay retail and love to work on "bargains"!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AirstreamDamage.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	93.1 KB
ID:	110008  

Old 09-03-2010, 02:51 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2010 27' FB Classic
N/A , Texas
I have never done body work on a trailer, so take my advice with a grain of salt.
If you send an email picture to Airstream Service dept. at Jackson Center, OH they can give you an idea of costs involved. I believe they charge about $1500/panel to replace, that includes parts and labor. From their price you can figure what it might cost you to do it.
You might also want to consider just replacing the whole back of the trailer. The whole aft section is a one piece unit minus the bumper when it is fitted to the main body at the factory on the assembly line. Maybe they will sell you the whole section? I have no idea what the whole thing would cost or if it can be had.
Good Luck!

Old 09-03-2010, 02:51 PM   #3