Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > Cabinets, Counter Tops & Furnishings
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-12-2015, 12:23 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Waxahachie , Texas
Repairing bathroom countertop

I am a newbie with a '75 Sovereign. There is a pretty large crack in bathroom countertop and sink. My budget is forcing me to repair and recondition anything and everything. I know this can be done, but I don't know where to begin looking. I don't know what filler, paint, epoxy, etc to use. Can someone advise
Thank you!
dcrocker115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 10:01 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1978 25' Tradewind
Metro Phoenix , Arizona
First, you need to determine whatmaterial it's made of. Then search for that on the forums here. I'm thinking it's likely to be ABS; there are directions here (ma
ybe on endcaps) for repairing ABS.
Old 08-19-2015, 09:10 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1964 26' Overlander
Richmond , Virginia
Fiberglass will bond to ABS. If you can take it off, and do it underneath, you're better off. See if you can get it color matched when you get it off. Stretch and tape some reynolds wrap quick release foil to the face side. Then tape a piece of cardboard over that to give it some backing. Flip it over, then use fiberglass tape on the backside - I used the self adhesive type that comes on a roll for drywall. Clean the back well with acetone, but move quickly as it can soften the plastic. Then adhere the fiberglass tape, then brush on the fiberglass resin. You can get a small can at Lowes and Home depot. Plus, you can use the same stuff for floor rot spots.