Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-14-2009, 12:07 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Austin , Texas
New cabinet doors and hinges

Hi folks,

I've spent a lot of time on this forum, and am usually able to figure things out without even having to post a new thread. Thanks for all your invaluable help.

I'm redoing the galley in my 1973 Sovereign, and have decided to keep the original cabinets and paint them (to avoid expense and waste). I'm planning however to put new doors on, most likely 3/4" frame and panel overlay. I've had a lot of cabinet experience in the past, but never attaching doors to such thin cabinets. Has anyone else tried something like this? If so, what hinges did you use and how did they work? I've mostly used euro-style hinges in the past, but that was connecting 3/4 doors to 3/4 cabinets. Would love any advice/suggestions.

I'm also planning to make the cabinet doors over the sink/stove flip-ups. Has anyone found an arm that attaches easily to hold them up? what about getting them to close against the cabinet (more than 90 degrees).

Thanks all!
seventythree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 12:20 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Austin , Texas
By the way, I'm currently planning to just liquid-nails in some 3/4" blocks to screw into. Would love to hear ideas for a more elegant solution though.
Old 12-14-2009, 02:09 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

1985 34' Limited
1960 24' Tradewind
Summerville , South Carolina
cabinet struts

Quote:
Originally Posted by seventythree View Post

I'm also planning to make the cabinet doors over the sink/stove flip-ups. Has anyone found an arm that attaches easily to hold them up? what about getting them to close against the cabinet (more than 90 degrees).