Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-04-2006, 11:04 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1962 24' Tradewind
Colorado Springs , CO
Cabinet Removal - Closet Removal

After removing mine and looking for too long in the forums for info, I thought I'd put what I learned here, all together, for the next Newbie.
Please add any tips you might have as well, I am no expert and there may be better ways to do some of this. Grammatical and spelling errors are intentional.
These photos and explanations are on a 1962 24ft Tradewind and likely would apply to most AS in that vintage.

Pic 1 - A drawing of the common attachments I found in most of my cabinets and closets. The red spot is where the hole is, the blue line is the screw. If you can't recognize the point of view of the drawing, well, you probably don't own a vintage airstream or someone else is doing the work . Nevertheless, you're looking from outside the airstream in.
  1. Along the wall is an aluminum channel, riveted into the wall of the AS, and into this channel is what the side walls of my cabinets slid into. The walls are not glued or anything, what holds them in the channel is crimping of the aluminum at the top and bottom. Only the inside edge of the channel is crimped. I took a 3/4" chisel and hammered it (gently) between the wall and crimping to open it up. Once that's done, the wall is free.
  2. Screws which pass through the wood facing above the closet door into the roof. The holes are filled in with wood putty which must first be removed to even discover them. "Hey, now I see why I can get this out, these hidden #%@&! screws" Usually 2 per closet.
  3. Behind the wood facing is a hidden L-shaped aluminum bracket. It's screwed into the backside of the wood facing you just worked on and then into the ceiling. Usually 3 screws per closet.