Old 08-04-2003, 01:56 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1982 31' Excella
Oldsmar , All over
wireless internet

Does anyone have any suggestions as to the best way to hookup for internet services while travelling. I have started a graduate program and need access 5 days /wk. Please I need help. I'm a novice at this. Thanks!

Old 08-04-2003, 10:27 AM   #2
Aluminut

2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
If there is not a phone connection (landline) or cell signal, then satillite might be your only option. If however there is a land line that you can use, then get a wireless base station and a 802.11 card (any flavor to match the base station) and surf to your hearts content. The Apple base station has a modem built in, not sure if there is a PC counterpart. With a land line, and a base station with modem, you could be up to 250' away from the phone line. I will say however that the Airstream does reduce the signal strength a fair amount. If you go straight 802.11 you'll be far less than 250' in the Airstream. If you use the 802.11g standard, (54mb) the signals are stronger and can more easily get to the 250' being inside your Airstream. I know cause I tested it. The terrain has a lot to do with how strong the signal is farther away from the base station.....

Eric

Computers manufactured by companies such as IBM, Compaq and millions of others are by far the most popular with about 70 million machines in use worldwide. Macintosh fans note that cockroaches are far more numerous than humans and that numbers alone do not denote a higher life form. -NY Times 11/91
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 10:45 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2004 28' Classic
Currently Looking...
huntsville , Alabama
the telcos are providing a wireless internet connection dont know what it cost , but it works if your in range of a cell tower. we used ours this weeken and had internet access and no cell coverage.