Old 09-07-2003, 12:58 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
Cary , North Carolina
Send a message via Yahoo to jjonesnc
Winterize now!

Hello All!
Being September 8th I have decided to get a jump start on winterizing my '80 Excella II here in central NC. The first thing I have on my list is the Furnace since for the past 3 winters (I am full-time in my beloved silver palace) I have had the literal "hot head-cold feet" condition. After removing the Suburban NT-30 gas furnace from the unit I discovered through looking into the combustion chamber exhaust tube that the wasps and daubers love living in my A/S as much as i do! (no surprise there!). These small gas furnaces are somewhat of an enigma to me but fortunatley the P/O kept all manuals for the appliances etc...I am an Automobile mechanic and, more importantly, the manual for the furnace is Very well written , I now have a good "mental picture" if this little unit in operation. Please forgive me if i get too basic or too complicated in this post for i am sure this will be read by both "novices" (like me) and the more , shall we say, "adept" in the workings of our beloved silver Condos on wheels.
When I bought this unit (1980 Excella II rear bath, center twins-WBCCI 14992) the owner told me "no the furnace does not work". After getting the unit home and installing a new battery i moved the t-stat to call for heat and got-----nothing. Looking into the manual i saw that i should at least be getting fan-on. Took my fluke 12B multimeter to the t-stat wires and saw there was voltage going to- but no voltage from- the t-stat. Removed cover from t-stat and discovered a small section of a match book cover had been placed between the contacts.