Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-18-2018, 08:26 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2019 25' Flying Cloud
Tucson , Arizona
Victron BMV-712 Install Question

Howdy,

This seems like a good "easy" upgrade. Being new to RV's and Airstreams I want to make sure I do it right the first time.

I have a 2019 Sport 22FB and I just took a look under the bed platform and saw the rats nest of wires of which I understand very little.

I have the factory solar option installed.

[Side note: I was a contractor and worked with lots of home electrical systems. Minor old time auto electric... but I'm good at this sort of thing]

I am assuming I leave ALL the wiring in tact for now and simply splice the shunt in the negative cable.

I have also see mention of a power lead to the "buss bar" but I see a number of bus bars throughout the Sport.....

Anyone done an install on late model Sport 22FB that has photos to share?

I'm about tapped out with what I want to invest this time around so along with new converter and adding a second 12v battery that will be my upgrade.

Remember easy is relative. "Whiskey Before Breakfast" is "easy" to play on guitar AFTER you learn it!

Thanks,

Rounder44
Rounder44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 08:38 AM   #2
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Welcome Aboard!! 👍

snip..."I am assuming I leave ALL the wiring in tact for now and simply splice the shunt in the negative cable."

Exactly what I did...In our Classic the two batt's are in separate compartments. I brought both negative Cables together and connected them to the battery side of the shunt.
The out side of the shunt going to the Neg buss bar.
Once I got everything wired and working I did replace some of the cables with the new six gauge.

Bob
👍
For breakfast....
Old 11-18-2018, 10:02 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2019 25' Flying Cloud
Tucson , Arizona