Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2019, 12:45 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2016 25' Flying Cloud
z , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 97
Victron BMV-712 Battery Monitor Shunt Install location

I have a 2016 FC RB Twin and want to install a battery monitor, but not sure where to place the shunt, can someone tell me if either spot is correct, on the attached photo OR are both WRONG
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SHUNT LOCATION.png
Views:	34
Size:	247.0 KB
ID:	349790  
__________________

5150mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 01:38 PM   #2
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7,366
Victron BMV-712 Battery Monitor Shunt Install location

A. Always right in the negative lead from the batteries. You will need a short heavy jumper wire from the shunt to the bussbar. Should be at least as big wire size as the negative lead from the batteries.

Idea is to monitor ALL the current going into and out of the batteries so the monitor knows what is going on.
__________________

__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 03:28 PM   #3
3rd one is the charm?
 
pcskier's Avatar

 
2014 23' Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,440
A, as mentioned. If you have an inverter that has its own wires to the batteries, also interrupt the negative one and put it across the shunt as well (assuming you want to measure inverter loads when in use as well. I certainly wanted that.) You might be able to just cut the inverter wire and add terminals to install on either side of the the shunt.

Also, if you are using a Victron and want to use the Airstream monitor prewire and mount the shunt wherever that would be (for me, it was the galley next to the inverter switch), you will likely have to cut the connectors and a few inches of wire from the Victron wire, and painstakingly attach them to the prewire. Otherwise, mount the monitor elsewhere and use the cable that Victron supplies.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4624.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	208.8 KB
ID:	349812
pcskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 03:34 PM   #4
Overkill Specialist
 
GMFL's Avatar

 
2014 23' International
Dadeville , Alabama
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3,320
Images: 4
Blog Entries: 50
Yep, A
GMFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 03:39 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar
 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,009
Images: 1
A and if you have an inverter directly connected to the battery itís negative lead needs to be connected to the shunt as well.
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 03:42 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 30' International
Santa Fe , New Mexico
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 24
Helpful video

I found this video very informative:

memph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 04:03 PM   #7
2 Rivet Member
 
2016 25' Flying Cloud
z , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcskier View Post
A, as mentioned. If you have an inverter that has its own wires to the batteries, also interrupt the negative one and put it across the shunt as well (assuming you want to measure inverter loads when in use as well. I certainly wanted that.) You might be able to just cut the inverter wire and add terminals to install on either side of the the shunt.

Also, if you are using a Victron and want to use the Airstream monitor prewire and mount the shunt wherever that would be (for me, it was the galley next to the inverter switch), you will likely have to cut the connectors and a few inches of wire from the Victron wire, and painstakingly attach them to the prewire. Otherwise, mount the monitor elsewhere and use the cable that Victron supplies.
Attachment 349812
I was going to mount it next to the fuse box, because the BMV-712 is Bluetooth so I can just use my phone or tablet for the monitor,
5150mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 04:28 PM   #8
3rd one is the charm?
 
pcskier's Avatar

 
2014 23' Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5150mike View Post
I was going to mount it next to the fuse box, because the BMV-712 is Bluetooth so I can just use my phone or tablet for the monitor,
You will love the bluetooth. I chose to mount the monitor along with my other 'system' stuff so I could easily see it if my phone was put away, which I try to do a lot when 'out there.'
pcskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 04:34 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
2016 25' Flying Cloud
z , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 97
Gotcha But do I connect it to the "load side" of the shunt or the "battery side" I assume its "load side"
5150mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 04:59 PM   #10
3rd one is the charm?
 
pcskier's Avatar

 
2014 23' Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5150mike View Post
Gotcha But do I connect it to the "load side" of the shunt or the "battery side" I assume its "load side"

If you are asking about the physical monitor connection...it connects via an RJ12 telephone cable connection to a connector on the shunt, not on the load or battery sides. The monitor itself only draws .7 amps per month--essentially negligible.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4654.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	218.3 KB
ID:	349825
pcskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 06:14 PM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
2016 25' Flying Cloud
z , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcskier View Post
If you are asking about the physical monitor connection...it connects via an RJ12 telephone cable connection to a connector on the shunt, not on the load or battery sides. The monitor itself only draws .7 amps per month--essentially negligible.

Attachment 349825
No sorry I did not include the quote to the post I was replying to, I was wondering about the inverter connection
5150mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 06:23 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar
 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,009
Images: 1
Connect the inverter on the load size. Also recommend you upgrade the cable that connects the BMV to the battery to a 2 or 1 gauge.
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 06:36 PM   #13
3rd one is the charm?
 
pcskier's Avatar

 
2014 23' Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by wulfraat View Post
Connect the inverter on the load size. Also recommend you upgrade the cable that connects the BMV to the battery to a 2 or 1 gauge.
Definitely, if OP is using just one cable from battery to shunt, since it needs to carry house and inverter load. I switched to 2 ga.

But if OP wants to avoid pulling new battery cable, can just cut existing inverter wire (4 ga likely is there), add connectors and install on either side of shunt (end from battery on 'battery' side of shunt, and other end that goes to inverter on 'load' side). As well as the existing battery wire (likely 6 ga) from battery to shunt. So both wires from battery to 'battery' side of shunt. This will leave the total capacity like it was from the factory (6 ga for 12v house and 4 ga for inverter). But again, my preference was to go with one wire to the battery to the shunt (2ga) and then from there 4ga to the inverter and 6 ga to neg bus. This is with my 1,000 watt inverter. (With a blue seas 3-way cutoff switch in the middle of it all though).
(Posting this for Mike, I know you know all this Wulf!)
pcskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 07:35 PM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
1974 25' Tradewind
Calgary , Alberta
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5150mike View Post
I have a 2016 FC RB Twin and want to install a battery monitor, but not sure where to place the shunt, can someone tell me if either spot is correct, on the attached photo OR are both WRONG
A. The shunt should always go on the negative battery lead between the negative-most terminal, and the chassis (or electrical) ground. That way you can track everything that goes into and out of the battery.
Alumineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 06:54 PM   #15
2 Rivet Member
 
2016 25' Flying Cloud
z , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 97
I am a da

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmkrum View Post
A. Always right in the negative lead from the batteries. You will need a short heavy jumper wire from the shunt to the bussbar. Should be at least as big wire size as the negative lead from the batteries.

Idea is to monitor ALL the current going into and out of the batteries so the monitor knows what is going on.
Ok I am lost, and know I will be called a DA on here for posting the question, but here goes do I need to just disconnect the white and black wire from the bus bar in the photo, put them on the battery side of the shunt and add 2 more wires from my sunt to the bus bar? I believe i have a good mental picture of how it should go on if I was placing it outside in the battery box, but I would like to place it inside (See Photo)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2016 fc wire1 MU.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	359.3 KB
ID:	350392  
5150mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 01:02 PM   #16
3rd one is the charm?
 
pcskier's Avatar

 
2014 23' Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,440
Mike, that is not the inverter, that is the connection box where your 7-pin umbilical from the tow vehicle comes in. No need to touch that at all. See the big fuse at the top with the red wires in your pic? One of those wires will lead you to the inverter, and next to it at the inverter you'll see the inverter negative wire.

For the rest of your question, I think that's the right black wire from your batteries that goes to the bus bar, just be sure. You want the black cable from the batteries (probably 6 awg) that goes to the bus bar to be interrupted by the shunt. Then same thing for wire that presently comes in from batteries and goes directly to inverter (probably 4 awg cable.) No need to touch any white wires on the bus bar. Note that in your installation, the bus bar is under the use/store switch, in mine it was mounted to the right of the switch. Same thing though.

See attached pic. You can see my (-) wire from battery, I have only one because I upgraded to 2 ga wire to carry the inverter and house load, eliminating the second wire. You will have two in your case, the 4 awg inverter wire and the 6 awg battery wire, connected to that side of shunt. Then other side of shunt will have 6awg going to bus bar and 4 awg going on to the inverter, you can see both in my pic. The third black wire in my pic is 8ga coming from my solar controller, so you can disregard that.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4626.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	430.8 KB
ID:	350422
pcskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 02:19 PM   #17
2 Rivet Member
 
2016 25' Flying Cloud
z , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcskier View Post
Mike, that is not the inverter, that is the connection box where your 7-pin umbilical from the tow vehicle comes in. No need to touch that at all. See the big fuse at the top with the red wires in your pic? One of those wires will lead you to the inverter, and next to it at the inverter you'll see the inverter negative wire.

For the rest of your question, I think that's the right black wire from your batteries that goes to the bus bar, just be sure. You want the black cable from the batteries (probably 6 awg) that goes to the bus bar to be interrupted by the shunt. Then same thing for wire that presently comes in from batteries and goes directly to inverter (probably 4 awg cable.) No need to touch any white wires on the bus bar. Note that in your installation, the bus bar is under the use/store switch, in mine it was mounted to the right of the switch. Same thing though.

See attached pic. You can see my (-) wire from battery, I have only one because I upgraded to 2 ga wire to carry the inverter and house load, eliminating the second wire. You will have two in your case, the 4 awg inverter wire and the 6 awg battery wire, connected to that side of shunt. Then other side of shunt will have 6awg going to bus bar and 4 awg going on to the inverter, you can see both in my pic. The third black wire in my pic is 8ga coming from my solar controller, so you can disregard that.
Attachment 350422
THANK YOU I went back to my TT this morning and found both wires, my problem was I could not see them coming in from the floor, but now I found them, I am going to splice in the wires but now need to find a crimp tool that will allow me to work in a tight space, I do not think a hammer crimp tool is an option, may try the hydraulic crimp tool THANKS AGAIN TO EVERYONE FOR YOUR HELP Mike
5150mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 04:23 PM   #18
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8,445
Hi

Take a look at the battery box. You may find other things attached there .....

=====

I would always mount the readout where it can (maybe with some effort) be accessed. You never know when you might have a dead phone *and* want to know what's going on with the power system .... ummm .... errrrrr ..... both *can* happen at the same time

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 06:38 PM   #19
3rd one is the charm?
 
pcskier's Avatar

 
2014 23' Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle_bob View Post
I would always mount the readout where it can (maybe with some effort) be accessed. You never know when you might have a dead phone *and* want to know what's going on with the power system .... ummm .... errrrrr ..... both *can* happen at the same time
Bob
I mounted mine in the galley near the tank monitors...I like being able to glance at the amps frequently when I pass by (without being obsessed, of course ) to see what's happening and manage my power usage as may be dictated by what kind of sunlight my panels are getting.
pcskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 10:44 AM   #20
1 Rivet Member
 
2017 25' Flying Cloud
Ann arbor , Michigan
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Just installed one. 25FB

U need to install as close to battery as possible if. It directly to neg pole. My batteries are in parrallel so see pic below.

It is a multi hour job to put it anywhere else than directly to battery (per the am solar guys) so I just weatherproofed it and hooked it up and left in the battery box. Works sweet. But if you hook it up wrong the info wonít be accurate as far as time remaining , amp draw, etc
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B7945CF0-B762-4C8C-AC91-9BE80659DE28.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	463.8 KB
ID:	351282  
__________________

Jimbob24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery monitor, bmv-712, shunt, victron


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Victron BMV 712 in battery box Bradley G Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 18 09-28-2019 08:32 PM
BMV-712 Battery Monitor Temperature Sensor billrector Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 2 12-18-2018 11:04 PM
Victron BMV-712 Install Question Rounder44 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 25 11-23-2018 06:53 PM
victron BMV-712 with battery temp probe waninae39 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 1 04-23-2018 08:53 PM
Victron BMV-712 install in 2017 30 International dmcgaugh Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 3 03-09-2018 01:24 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.