Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-01-2014, 12:45 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2006 23' Safari SE
eugene , Oregon
Vent fan

I just removed a broken roof vent from our 23' safari. It was the rear vent.
I'd like to install a new vent with a fan but there is no electrical at this site.
What is the best way to either run a wire from a light or run a new circuit?
I am a electrical novice.
Thanks
cyafishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 07:08 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 19' Safari
GLENDALE , AZ
Our dealer-installed FantasticFan near the dinette table is wired to the overhead lighting fixture; and it turns on and off with the switch near the entry door.

I installed a second FantasticFan, myself, in the bedroom area (it replaced the existing non-powered vent); and I wired it into the overheat lighting fixture that turns on and off with the switch near the furnace thermostat, which is located near bathroom sink in our 2005, 19-foot Bambi.

Connecting a vent fan into the wiring for overhead lighting fixtures appears to be the most common practice.
Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 10:25 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

2006 23' Safari SE
eugene , Oregon
Where to run wire?

Here is a picture of the light wiring in relation to the vent hole. They are close together but there is a metal support for the roof in between them. What is the best way to run the wire?
Thanks,
G
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	175.8 KB
ID:	208869  
cyafishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 11:40 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2005 19' Safari
GLENDALE , AZ
If you look around in the pink insulation, you'll probably find a wire bundle somewhere in the ceiling. However, I am unfamiliar with models other than our 2005, 19-foot Bambi. Hopefully, someone with your model Airstream who has installed a FantasticFan, will respond.