Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2017, 04:33 AM   #1
New Member
 
2017 28' Flying Cloud
Tulsa , Oklahoma
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Using the heat pump on 110

We have an AS 28A 50amp with 2 Dometic A/C units equipped with heat pumps. Does anyone know if you can run the heat pumps on 110 without damaging the units?

Thanks
__________________

pagedavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 06:13 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
jdalrymple's Avatar
 
2009 27' FB Flying Cloud
1991 35' Airstream 350
Jay , Oklahoma
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,688
The entire trailer is designing to only operate on 110 (or more correctly 120) volts.

If you are plugged into a 30 amp RV circuit, run only 1 unit at a time.

50 amp RV electric supplies confuse most electricians. The circuit is capable of supplying 240 volts, but the trailer is wired to use each 120 volt leg of the supply separately.


The heat pumps are nice to use, but will only produce heat when outdoor temps are 35 degrees or above.



Regards,


JD
__________________

__________________
Jeff & Cindy
'09 27FB Flying Cloud
'91 350 LE MH
jdalrymple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 06:37 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
AnnArborBob's Avatar
 
2014 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Chelsea , Michigan
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,792
Images: 12
The previous post is correct. However, I am going to guess that you were asking about running the heat pump while on a 15 amp circuit (i.e., a typical household plug.) The answer is no for a stock AC unit. Using the heat pump runs the same compressor and mechanical components that are used to cool the air into your trailer. Except that in heat pump mode the unit is used to make warm air rather than cold air. It will draw the same basic amount of power to run itself as it does in air conditioning (or cold) mode. You might be successful in getting the unit to start up and run on a 15 amp circuit but you will be damaging it as you do so. The damage might not show up right away, but one day down the road your compressor will fail and you'll wonder why.

There is an aftermarket device called a MicroAir Easy Start which can be installed in your AC unit to allow it to start and run on a 15 amp circuit or 2000 watt generator. I've included a link below.

https://www.microair.net/products/ea...nt=30176048267
__________________
Bob Martel
WBCCI# 5766
AnnArborBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat pump or heat strips? coolwhip40 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 17 05-03-2018 09:27 AM
Using the heat pump/heat strip instead of furnace. crazylev On The Road... 38 10-28-2016 07:58 PM
Heat Pump - Replace with an AC or Heat Pump? A W Warn General Repair Forum 32 10-12-2015 02:18 PM
To heat pump, or not to heat pump, that is the ?? MacDad Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 16 09-06-2014 09:58 PM
New AC, Heat Pump or Heat strip? firedog 1990 - 1993 Excella 3 01-22-2010 04:23 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.