Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-07-2003, 01:37 PM   #1
Obsessed with Moonunit

1978 Argosy Minuet 6.7 Metre
Love It Here , Colorado
Univolt with Battery Minder

We just purchased a deepcycle 12V Trojan battery and want to maintain it. We are looking to purchase the BatteryMinder, but being a novice, I am reading this thread and not sure all questions in my head are answered.

1. Do we keep BatteryMinder hooked to battery when we are at a fullhookup site using Univolt to convert AC to 12V? or

2. Do we unhook(not sure we have a battery selector switch to turn off battery from Univolt) battery and not use because the Univolt will run with the full hookup?

3. If #2 is correct, do we even need the BatteryMinder while on the road to maintain the battery - or do we hook the battery to it when we return to recharge?

We will be gone 7-10 days. Total confusion at this point!! Leigh
COArgosy78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2003, 06:14 PM   #2
Rivet Master

LOST , Hawaii
Use the battery minder to maintain the battery between camping trips, the univolt will charge it while you are plugged in. The battery will help regulate the univolt output, I would leave it hooked up.

John
74Argosy24MH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2003, 06:23 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1966 26' Overlander
Woodstock , Georgia
The battery minder used between camping trips will be better for your battery than leavuing the univolt plugged in while storing the camper. Mine stayed plugged in for too long i guess, as one of my coach batteries died, and the other was weakened by overcharging. I bought a deep cycle battery charger with a lower voltage charge rate for storing the motorhome, and it seems to be working out well. I now have only one coach battery, but that seems to work as i run the generator often when on the road, and plug in when camping.