Old 10-08-2002, 08:08 AM   #1
Still Working

1994 36' Classic 36
North Charleston , South Carolina
Post Univolt FACTS

I am studying the UNIVOLT and I see many opinions on the Function of the Univolt.

May we please dispell all guesses and arrive at the facts only please.

Will the Univolt overcharge a battery?

Can a Univolt Provide 12 volts to the AS without a Battery?

Will the Univolt become damaged if ran without a battery in the mix?

Is there a way to provide limitation between the Univolt and the battery, (a timer or state of charge limiter)?

Is there a Univolt manufacturer available for info?

Does the Tow vehicle provide 12 volts to the trailer or the trailer battery via the Univolt?

And of course the ever persistant question of why does the 120 volt, shore power, indicator, (at the control panel), either stays on or off when connected or disconnected from shore power.

Looking for the facts only,

Smily

Old 10-08-2002, 08:43 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

Send a message via AIM to JodynJeep Send a message via Yahoo to JodynJeep
Here are some links for more info...

http://www.timberman.com/Default2.htm

http://www.phrannie.org/phredex.html

Those are two of the more informative resources that goes into detail how the univolt / electrical systems on RV's work

Old 10-08-2002, 09:06 AM   #3
Still Working

1994 36' Classic 36
Wink Looking for Univolt Specific

Thanks for the links. The second is very informative especially in battery maintenance but, neither are specific to Univolt. Since a lot of the Vintage AS have Univolts, including mine.........

I am looking for information specific to Univolt.

Thanks anyway.

Smily
Old 10-08-2002, 10:20 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1986 25' Sovereign
Southern Middle , Tennessee