Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 11:26 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
Siamese66's Avatar
 
1976 25' Tradewind
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Tripping breaker

I can't seem to figure out why when I plug into shore power my 15 amp breaker trips? DC works fine. I've tride resetting multiple times but its the same. I'm not aware of anything running. I even went in the house and reset the breakers switches there also thinking thert might be something too much on the circuit in the house. But everything seems normal. Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Rick
__________________

Siamese66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 12:48 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Goose Creek , South Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 136
Images: 9
Check for a junction box that might be shorting out. I had the same problem during my last trip, I had just replaced the plug on my cord and could not get shore power to work. I took that plug appart 3 times to double triple check myself. I just about gave up and found a metal junction box under one of the night stands where a wire was shorting out. Easy fix and all problems solved.
__________________

Holzarbeiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 05:17 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
Siamese66's Avatar
 
1976 25' Tradewind
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
I found the junction box. But, all connections are tight and wires seem in great condition. Is it possible, that the trip switch itself is bad? It looks like I have a GFC switch that is throwing? Should I just replace it?
Siamese66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 06:59 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
loudruff's Avatar
 
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.7 Metre
1989 29' Excella
Lorain County , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,245
Images: 5
Send a message via AIM to loudruff Send a message via MSN to loudruff Send a message via Yahoo to loudruff
old trailer to GFI

We had a similar experience the first time we took our vintage '78 to a newly wired campground. It blew the GFI breaker everytime we plugged in. Fearing a rotted 30 amp wire, we replaced it all. Still blew the campground GFI, until I noticed that a ground bar inside the fuse panel connecting the ground to neutral. I removed this connection and then all was well.
Good luck!
Larry
__________________
Larry and Lou
CP: Water/30 amp/waste dump/WIFI & Room for 2-3 units; PM us if you are headed our direction!
Air #2695
TAC- OH 2
#1420 NOVA 4-006 Charter member


loudruff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 09:29 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member
 
Siamese66's Avatar
 
1976 25' Tradewind
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Ground bar? What does the ground bar connection look like? I had been plugging into the house for a couple of days and not a problem. Its a recent thing. So, to understand the breaker is basically protecting the univolt? So, the issue would be between the house receptical and the breaker? Or is it possible to be after the breaker? how would I know if the breaker is working properly?
Siamese66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 10:32 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
loudruff's Avatar
 
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.7 Metre
1989 29' Excella
Lorain County , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,245
Images: 5
Send a message via AIM to loudruff Send a message via MSN to loudruff Send a message via Yahoo to loudruff
If it worked yesterday it is not a ground bar problem. How about changing out the plug/GFI and see if that is the problem. It seems the more they trip the weaker they get.
__________________
Larry and Lou
CP: Water/30 amp/waste dump/WIFI & Room for 2-3 units; PM us if you are headed our direction!
Air #2695
TAC- OH 2
#1420 NOVA 4-006 Charter member


loudruff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 06:24 PM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
Siamese66's Avatar
 
1976 25' Tradewind
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
BINGO! I found it! I did locate the ground bar and the white wire. However, I just went ahead and replaced the breaker. It didn't seem that the reset button wasn't working well anyway. Shazaam! I have AC again! :-) Thanks for the help! I find that alittle different info from each person seems to work.
Siamese66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 06:49 AM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
1973 31' Excella 500
Morristown , Tennessee
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 193
Images: 9
Ahhh, the beauty of two heads - or many more. Collective reasoning does have it's place. Bounce, bounce, bounce----> answer.

Joe
Alumin8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 07:27 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
Chaplain Kent's Avatar
 
1994 30' Excella
Currently Looking...
Milwaukee , Wisconsin
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,934
One more thing now that you have power. Check your connections at the 110 only, like the AC, the 110 outlets, and the microwave. Make certain they are all tight and there are no loose or loosening connections. Check the wires to make sure they have insulation and have not started to short out against something. Reason being is that breaker tripped for a reason and tripped many times enough so to wear out the reset. Better safe than sorry. Most of these problems will be caught right at the connection. I bet you will find where a PO put in a new outlet or something like that.
__________________
Chaplain Kent
2015 Coachman Freedom Express 19RBS, Chummy IV- Ford Excursion- 7.3 Turbo-diesel
Chaplain Kent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 10:37 AM   #10
1 Rivet Member
 
Siamese66's Avatar
 
1976 25' Tradewind
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Thanks! Will do! :-)
__________________

Siamese66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a/c tripping breaker? rebel beck Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 13 08-01-2006 02:59 PM
AC breaker keeps tripping bmimken Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 7 06-11-2006 08:57 AM
Converter Breaker? Sav'h Steve Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 7 11-18-2002 08:45 AM
Should I replace the fuse box with a breaker panel? Andy R Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 2 09-13-2002 10:21 PM
New circuit breaker strip FrankR Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 0 03-27-2002 10:25 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.