Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2010, 12:20 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
1960 26' Overlander
Everett , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 24
Source for Glass Screw-in Fuses

Anyone aware of a source for the old 12 volt screw-in glass fuses used in the two circuit ceramic fuse block in a 1960 Overlander? My box of spares is MIA after two moves.

Alternately, is it an easy conversion to a more modern fuse panel using either automotive glass tube or blade type fuses? My 12 volt is all original, no AC or appliances using electric. One circuit for all the lights and the roof fan. One for the pump for the pressurized water system.

I researched here before posting but didn't find anything on the fuse blocks from this vintage. Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
glang58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:36 AM   #2
Maniacal Engineer
 
barts's Avatar
 
1971 25' Tradewind
Menlo Park , California
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,223
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by glang58 View Post
Anyone aware of a source for the old 12 volt screw-in glass fuses used in the two circuit ceramic fuse block in a 1960 Overlander? My box of spares is MIA after two moves.

Alternately, is it an easy conversion to a more modern fuse panel using either automotive glass tube or blade type fuses? My 12 volt is all original, no AC or appliances using electric. One circuit for all the lights and the roof fan. One for the pump for the pressurized water system.

I researched here before posting but didn't find anything on the fuse blocks from this vintage. Thanks in advance.
Are these like the old house fuses, or something else again?
Replacing the fuse panel is pretty easy, esp. for two circuits - I'd likely use two circuit breakers, actually...

- Bart
__________________

__________________
Bart Smaalders
Menlo Park, CA
http://tinpickle.blogspot.com
http://smaalders.net/barts
barts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:44 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
1960 26' Overlander
Everett , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 24
Yup, they are exactly like the old house fuses. Glass, circular, about the size of a quarter or a little bigger, with a screw-in base. I've found the house fuses up to 30amp but I'm assuming (maybe incorrectly) they are different because they are for AC. Can't find any 40 amp ones though even if the ac ones would work.

Is changing this out as simple as getting a four or six circuit fuse box and moving the wiring over? And, if I used 12 volt circuit breakers would they be mounted in a box of some type? I use them on my boat but each breaker has mounting lugs and is just screwed into a convenient location. Sorry to be so uninformed, I just don't work with 12 volt stuff much. Appreciate very much the wisdom and experience on this forum.
__________________
glang58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 01:32 AM   #4
Maniacal Engineer
 
barts's Avatar
 
1971 25' Tradewind
Menlo Park , California
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,223
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by glang58 View Post
Yup, they are exactly like the old house fuses. Glass, circular, about the size of a quarter or a little bigger, with a screw-in base. I've found the house fuses up to 30amp but I'm assuming (maybe incorrectly) they are different because they are for AC. Can't find any 40 amp ones though even if the ac ones would work.

Is changing this out as simple as getting a four or six circuit fuse box and moving the wiring over? And, if I used 12 volt circuit breakers would they be mounted in a box of some type? I use them on my boat but each breaker has mounting lugs and is just screwed into a convenient location. Sorry to be so uninformed, I just don't work with 12 volt stuff much. Appreciate very much the wisdom and experience on this forum.
The easiest approach is to just get a fuse block and replace the existing stuff. If you have problems w/ shorts or overloading, you may wish to use circuit breakers instead if you cannot get that fixed right away....

- Bart
__________________
Bart Smaalders
Menlo Park, CA
http://tinpickle.blogspot.com
http://smaalders.net/barts
barts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 09:08 AM   #5
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
You can use AC screw in fuses. The original fuses were 125V rated.

You probably need 25amp. fuses, not 40amp. My trailer had the same arrangement (vent fan, lights, pressure pump) and the fuses were 25a. Check the wire size to be sure.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ASfuse.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	81.7 KB
ID:	101162  
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
40 amp glass AGC fuses for 71 Univolt Lumatic Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 23 03-02-2008 12:28 PM
Newbie- Screw lengths jim&rita General Interior Topics 4 10-10-2007 01:28 PM
Needing screw size for '68 Tradewind Window Glass Bar harestream Windows & Screens 10 02-10-2007 03:47 PM
Need fuses... JMGAZ Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 07-22-2005 06:24 PM
replacing glass fuses with blades maznblu Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 4 08-06-2003 12:34 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.