Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2010, 09:14 PM   #29
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melody Ranch View Post
I just had a handyman electrician install a 30 amp and a couple 15 amp outlets in a box outside my barn....making available power to any visiting Airstreamer.....and me when parked out under the trees. BUT, before I go any further with it...even test it...I have a nagging recollection that somewhere here in the Forum...a mention was made about being sure that the electrician knew that this was to be power for an RV...not a residence. 220 volts/240 volts something like that. I know nothing about it and and need to be sure about this....any input out there?
The 15 amp outlets shouldn't pose a problem. Let's talk about the 30 amp outlet.

1) Find the circuit breaker that controls it. Does it have one handle, like the 15 amp breakers, or two handles like the breaker for your range, dryer, water heater, etc. One handle =120v, two handles =240 volt, in most cases.

2) You can get a plug adapter here and a meter here for a total of about $20. Plug those together, plug into your outlet, and either peace of mind or the data for a strong letter to your electrician will be forthcoming quickly

3) Or you can just get the aforementioned plug adapter and plug in a regular table lamp with a good old incandescent bulb. If it shines brightly for half a second then burns out your electrician screwed up, if it shines normally everything is fine. The difference is dramatic and impossible to miss, and you won't hurt anything but the 60 watt bulb if the voltage is wrong.
__________________

__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 06:06 PM   #30
3 Rivet Member
 
tallytwo1994's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
tallahassee , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melody Ranch View Post
I just had a handyman electrician install a 30 amp and a couple 15 amp outlets in a box outside my barn....making available power to any visiting Airstreamer.....and me when parked out under the trees. BUT, before I go any further with it...even test it...I have a nagging recollection that somewhere here in the Forum...a mention was made about being sure that the electrician knew that this was to be power for an RV...not a residence. 220 volts/240 volts something like that. I know nothing about it and and need to be sure about this....any input out there?
If the installer was an electrician and not a handman doing electrical work then I believe he will know if what he installed is appropriate for an RV.

You would use 220/240 volt wire for a 30 amp circuit for say a dryer or stove in your home and those outlets and plugs are designed differently than the 30 amp plug for an RV. Could this have something to do with what you are remembering?

Carol
__________________

__________________
tallytwo1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 06:33 PM   #31
3 Rivet Member
 
tallytwo1994's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
tallahassee , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallytwo1994 View Post
If the installer was an electrician and not a handman doing electrical work then I believe he will know if what he installed is appropriate for an RV.

You would use 220/240 volt wire for a 30 amp circuit for say a dryer or stove in your home and those outlets and plugs are designed differently than the 30 amp plug for an RV. Could this have something to do with what you are remembering?

Carol
opps,

I should also mention that you would run 120 volt wire to the 30 amp RV outlet.
__________________
tallytwo1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 09:14 PM   #32
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallytwo1994 View Post
If the installer was an electrician and not a handman doing electrical work then I believe he will know if what he installed is appropriate for an RV.

Carol
That's not correct. We have more cases of electricians wiring RV outlets with 240V than handymen. I think it's because they just assume anything 30 amps will be a dryer outlet.

Not sure what you mean by 220/240 volt wire vs 120 volt wire. I've never seen wire marked that way.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 09:42 PM   #33
Rivet Master
 
ROBERTSUNRUS's Avatar

 
2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,266
Images: 18
Blog Entries: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdoane View Post
That's not correct. We have more cases of electricians wiring RV outlets with 240V than handymen. I think it's because they just assume anything 30 amps will be a dryer outlet.

Not sure what you mean by 220/240 volt wire vs 120 volt wire. I've never seen wire marked that way.
Hi, I'm not an electrician, but generally there are three wires from the power pole to your house or property; One neutral and two hot 120 volt wires. Usually one of the 120 volt lines operates half of you house's needs and the other 120 volt line operates the other half. If you need 240 volts for machinery or electric appliances they would use all three of these wires. [240 volts] That's how it is in my neighborhood. I would really be leary about an electrician who would think you are going to use an electric dryer out side of your barn. Especially if you told him it is an RV outlet. Not to mention an electric dryer uses a different plug/socket.
__________________
Bob

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 10:38 PM   #34
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
Generally you are correct. But if you tell an electrician you want a 30 amp outlet on the corner of your house, you're going to get a dryer outlet.

If you tell him you want a 30 amp 120 volt TT-30R RV outlet on the corner of your house, you'll get a TT-30R Recreational Vehicle outlet.

There is a lot of room for garbled, misunderstood and crossed signals. And then you have the electrician that thinks you must have meant a 240V outlet. Then there are the electricians that just have never heard of an RV outlet, so use whatever they have in the truck.

And I happen to have a L14-30R "dryer outlet" on the outside of my garage that powers a small welder, so why would an electrician find that an unusual request?

I'm not saying that the chances are 50-50 that they'll get it wrong, but it happens often enough to be worthwhile asking, as poster #24 did.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 08:37 AM   #35
3 Rivet Member
 
tallytwo1994's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
tallahassee , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdoane View Post
That's not correct. We have more cases of electricians wiring RV outlets with 240V than handymen. I think it's because they just assume anything 30 amps will be a dryer outlet.

Not sure what you mean by 220/240 volt wire vs 120 volt wire. I've never seen wire marked that way.
I am unaware of any full fledged CERTIFIED Electrician who would confuse a 220/240 30 amp circuit with a 110/120 volt 30 amp circuit for an RV. We work in the construction business and I have been around many, many electricians through the years. True there are some individuals "in training" who might know less, but when somone uses the term Electrician I'm thinking certified.

Sorry for the confusion with the wire. I wasn't saying the the wire would be labled 220/240 or 110/120, rather the wire you use will be different and look different too. When you run wire for a stove or dryer... you use 10 gauge stranded wire conprised of 2 Hots, 1 Ground, and 1 Neutral. Although if you insist you could use the same wire to run two circuits at 110/120 volts, instead of one 220/240 circuit. BUT WHY? Using basic 12/2 Romex is going to be cheaper and easier to use.

Carol
__________________
tallytwo1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 12:08 PM   #36
Rivet Master
 
Gene's Avatar
 
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Grand Junction , Colorado
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,840
Receptacles for different amps and voltages are all different. There are 15 amp, 240 v. receptacles. I used one for an air conditioner. They can be hard to find, just like the 30 amp, 120 v. receptacle. Even a licensed electrician can make mistakes.

Here are some pictures of 240 v. receptacles. I think the one on the left is a 15 amp, the one on the right may be a 30 amp receptacle, but I'm not sure. The 50 amp, 240 v. stove receptacle is larger is usually comes in a brown unit.

Gene
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	240volt_receptacles_035.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	16.0 KB
ID:	98367  
__________________
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 12:51 PM   #37
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrawfordGene View Post

Here are some pictures of 240 v. receptacles. I think the one on the left is a 15 amp, the one on the right may be a 30 amp receptacle, but I'm not sure. The 50 amp, 240 v. stove receptacle is larger is usually comes in a brown unit.

Gene
The one of the left is 20A 220VAC and the one on the right looks like it says L3-20 making it a 20A 110VAC.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 02:39 PM   #38
Rivet Master
 
Wabbiteer's Avatar
 
1973 27' Overlander
1972 29' Ambassador
St. Paul , Minnesota
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,912
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 2
Dyslexia kitties doing the word processing & posting for Michelle again?

The Ivory colored one is the 120VAC 20A
__________________

Wabbiteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 03:10 PM   #39
Don't forget your cat nap
 
Ag&Au's Avatar
 
Port Orchard , Washington
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4,464
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wabbiteer View Post
Dyslexia kitties doing the word processing & posting for Michelle again?

The Ivory colored one is the 120VAC 20A

I am holding one like the ivory one in my hand right now. It has stamped in the plastic - 20A 250V.

Ken

I use those for my 220v ham radio amplifiers
__________________
Ag&Au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 03:41 PM   #40
Don't forget your cat nap
 
Ag&Au's Avatar
 
Port Orchard , Washington
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4,464
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by w7ts View Post
I am holding one like the ivory one in my hand right now. It has stamped in the plastic - 20A 250V.

Ken

I use those for my 220v ham radio amplifiers
After further research the black one is also 20A 250V, but is locking.
__________________
Ag&Au is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 03:50 PM   #41
Rivet Master
 
Wabbiteer's Avatar
 
1973 27' Overlander
1972 29' Ambassador
St. Paul , Minnesota
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,912
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 2
Ah yes. My bad. Speaking of dyslexia...

I don't know how many times I looked at that and the horizontal only socket was vertical. Wind in the wires I guess...
__________________

Wabbiteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 05:35 PM   #42
Rivet Master
 
Over59's Avatar
 
1959 26' Overlander
Putnam , Connecticut
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,064
Images: 37
My favorite story is the guy who couldn't plug his trailer into the outlet on his driveway. So you went to the HD store and bought the "right" outlet for the job. Of course the breaker tripped so he went back and 50 amp break so he could "run his AC". Half burned the house down and the insurance company would not pay. The original outlet was had 14# wire. You cann't screw with this stuff if you don't know how is all comes together. Like Andy says.... people could die...
__________________

__________________
Over59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power surging from shore power in my Excella 500? NVDeputy Lights - Interior & Exterior 4 10-09-2009 12:52 PM
Accessing Shore Power Plug on '06 Safari Denis4x4 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 5 03-09-2009 01:33 PM
Shore Power Again The Flintstones Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 13 10-09-2007 08:18 PM
Shore power and battery power problems jfremstad Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 05-03-2007 09:23 AM
Shore power cord FreshAir Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 18 02-21-2007 03:41 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.