Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-20-2005, 08:30 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2007 31' Classic
Bend , Oregon
Safari battery problem

The Megatron (Interstate) batteries in my 2004 Safari have failed. Does anybody have know of a reliable replacement brand? What type is better gel or conventional water.
jfowler218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 08:53 PM   #2
Aluminut

2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
I too soon will need to cross this bridge as mine went totally dead a few times which I hear is a no no.... I can tell they are not as prime as they were when first used the coach..... at any rate I've been happy with Die Hards in the car, but am not sure they would be good in the coach. I do know you should get a deep cycle type. I've been happy with both if the gel is the maint free type battery, but I am not sure deep cycle batts are gel type, but I'm no battery expert, just put the biggest one I can squeeze into the engine bay on the cars/truck for the real cold Chicago winters for the cold cranking amps and was thinking of the same Tim Allen method for the Safari too in the spring if my current batteries continue to degrade.
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 11:10 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2005 19' Safari
1968 24' Tradewind
Rural , Delaware
Absorption Glass Mat batteries have served me well so far. They are expensive, but I believe they're worth it. Mine came as part of the solar upgrade in my AS.

http://www.dcbattery.com/lifeline2.html
SilverRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2005, 11:34 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member

2003 25' Safari
spokane , Washington