Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2015, 10:29 AM   #1
New Member
 
Richmond , Virginia
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
RV to house plug adapters, help!

My father in law has an Aistream and asked for my help.

He would like to connect the Airstream to the house.

Plug from Airstream
NEMA TT-30P - Imgur

Receptacle plug at house
TheMarkWhite's uploaded images - Imgur

Can I use adapters?

Convert NEMA TT-30R to NEMA 14-50P then convert the 14-50P to 6-50?

These seem to do exactly what I need.

The below is a link which will take the plug from the Airstream (NEMA TT-30P) and convert it to a NEMA 14-50P.

"NEMA 14-50P to TT-30R, 50A to 30A RV Pigtail Adapter. Use this adapter to get 125V 30A power from a 125/250V, 50A power source. "
Conntek 14315, 50A Male, to 30A Female, RV Adapter, 1.5ft


Then the below is a link which will take the new NEMA 14-50P and convert it to the house connection (NEMA 60-50R).

Connector = NEMA 14-50R to NEMA 6-50P
https://www.evseadapters.com/14-50r-to-6-50p-adapter

Any advice would be great. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Mwhitedesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 01:34 PM   #2
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Hello Mwhite

I can't see the photo of the house receptacle because of a permissions thing. However if it is a NEMA 6-50R that's all I need to know

There is no straightforward conversion from a 6-50R to a TT-30R because the 6-50R is 230 volt only and does not have the neutral conductor required for 115V operation. The conversion from 14-50R to TT-30R is possible because 14-50R has the fourth blade that provides a neutral connection, and this, along with one of the two "hot" connections, is used -- with the extra "hot" blade being left unconnected.


It is possible to convert from a 14-50R to a 6-50R because the neutral conductor on the 14-50R is just left unconnected leaving the two hots, but it is not possible to go the other way.

If the 6-50R outlet is no longer being used for anything else, it would be possible to have a knowledgeable electrician change the way the wires are connected at the breaker panel and also at the same time replace the outlet with a TT-30R.
__________________

__________________
To learn to see below the surface, you must adjust your altitude
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 01:49 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
BambiTex's Avatar
 
1967 26' Overlander
1955 22' Flying Cloud
1964 17' Bambi II
Clear Lake Shores , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,150
Electrician rewired ours like this

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jammer View Post
Hello Mwhite

I can't see the photo of the house receptacle because of a permissions thing. However if it is a NEMA 6-50R that's all I need to know

There is no straightforward conversion from a 6-50R to a TT-30R because the 6-50R is 230 volt only and does not have the neutral conductor required for 115V operation. The conversion from 14-50R to TT-30R is possible because 14-50R has the fourth blade that provides a neutral connection, and this, along with one of the two "hot" connections, is used -- with the extra "hot" blade being left unconnected.


It is possible to convert from a 14-50R to a 6-50R because the neutral conductor on the 14-50R is just left unconnected leaving the two hots, but it is not possible to go the other way.

If the 6-50R outlet is no longer being used for anything else, it would be possible to have a knowledgeable electrician change the way the wires are connected at the breaker panel and also at the same time replace the outlet with a TT-30R.
After mistakenly wiring garage outlet for 220 volts
__________________
BambiTex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 02:24 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
Most important thing. 120 volt, not 240.
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 02:41 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
jdalrymple's Avatar
 
2009 27' FB Flying Cloud
1991 35' Airstream 350
Jay , Oklahoma
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,602
I cannot see the house receptacle photo either...

But the other photo is for a 50 amp to 30 amp adapter.

PLEASE READ THIS PART:

Unless you know what voltage the house receptacle is wired for, do not simply adapt your way into plugging in the Airstream.

The photo you posted for the male end of the trailer plug is a 30 amp 120 Volt connection. Suppling 220 volts to the trailer will cause lots of problems.

I am not saying it can't be done, it canbe and probably with the correct adapter, but just make sure you know what you are doing.



Regards,

JD
__________________
Jeff & Cindy
'09 27FB Flying Cloud
'91 350 LE MH
jdalrymple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 03:02 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Mrjkq's Avatar
 
2016 25' Flying Cloud
Venice , Florida
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 982
If what you're trying to do is just run power to the Airstream, here is what I did. I had a electrician install a 30 AMP breaker in the house breaker box, just below the box he installed a 30 AMP standard plug, looks similar to a 15 or 20 AMP plug. I purchased a 15 AMP to 30 AMP adapter plug. Plug the 15 AMP male side into the new 30 AMP outlet & your Airstream power cord in the female 30 AMP side. Worked perfect on my last trailer, ran everything.
__________________
Joe
Venice, FL
2016 FC 25RTB
TAC FL-47
2016 Nissan Titan XD Cummins Diesel
Mrjkq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 12:06 PM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 36' Land Yacht XC Diesel
Fresno , California
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 171
I had the same thing done at my place. I wanted a 50 amp for my DP but there was way to much of a price increase. I think it only cost me ~$250 for the part and labor. Much better than taking the 50 to a 30 to the standard 110 which blew a breaker the minute I plugged her in.
__________________
LucasS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 12:51 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Larry C's Avatar
 
1996 34' Excella
Elberta , Alabama
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Hire an electrician, tell him what you are trying to do, and let him go to work. It'll be done correctly, and you won't have to worry about adapters...

For whatever it's worth.

Larry
__________________
Old age is coming at a really bad time!

1996 34' Excella 1000, interior totally redone, 2003 Dodge/Cummins HO, U.S. Gear exhaust brake, Diablo tuner, 115 gallon aux fuel, Bedslide, Airsafe/Reese Dual Cam, and a bunch of other stuff
Larry C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 01:42 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 29
Send a message via AIM to spaceghost65
I have one on the outside of my house. You want to make sure the trailer has its own breaker on the fuse box of the house to avoid tripping anything inside the home. Tie into the new breaker and run the wire to a secure location on the outside of the house. From there wire in a weather proof flip box if you can, and the plug, both available at the Home Depot. My breaker panel is on the outside of my house so I had an advantage there. I'll try to get some photos up tonight.

If you don't know how to install breakers, it isn't hard but an electrician may be your best bet. You'll need to shut down main power to the breaker box and then go from there. Hopefully you have some extra slots.
__________________
Coming soon: a crowd pleaser.
spaceghost65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2015, 01:59 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
mimiandrews's Avatar

 
1966 22' Safari
Weatherford , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,425
Any RV supply store will have an adapter (dogbone is the slang name) that will connect any 15 amp outlet in the house to the trailer's 30 amp cord. Problem is that 15 amps is all you get. Works for small loads like lights, TV sets, etc. Does not work for the air conditioner (can damage it if you try) or possibly the microwave.

They also sell adapters that will connect the trailer's 30 amp cord to an RV park's 50 amp connector--leaving one leg disconnected so that all you get is 120 volts. That would be unusual to find in a home.

The connectors usually found in a home that look kinda like RV connectors are all 240 volt. Any adapter to those will fry a lot of circuits in the trailer and cost a bunch to repair.

Electricians have been known to wire 30 amp RV receptacles to 240 volts when they install them in a home. Ignorance is expensive, and an electrician's license doesn't mean that he/she knows anything about RV wiring. If you have someone wire a 30 amp trailer receptacle for you, make them prove that it is 120 volts and correct polarity before you plug in anything.
__________________
mimiandrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 08:00 AM   #11
New Member
 
Richmond , Virginia
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Thanks for all the responses everybody.

I am familiar and comfortable installing breakers.

But for the actual 30AMP we are looking for a 120V breaker. I've found the below. Is this sufficient? Or do we want a breaker rated for 120V only, not 120/240V?

http://www.lowes.com/pd_12932-296-HO...ductId=1010299
__________________
Mwhitedesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 10:37 AM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 29
Send a message via AIM to spaceghost65
I should have mentioned that my trailer is wired for 110v only and there is no 12v or switching in it at all. Apologies for the blurry pics. Also be sure to get weather proof box (Do as I say not as I do! rofl )
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150619_081159.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	140.6 KB
ID:	241086   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150619_081144.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	136.9 KB
ID:	241087  

__________________

__________________
Coming soon: a crowd pleaser.
spaceghost65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12v to USB adapters that will work at float voltage Jammer Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 9 03-14-2015 12:16 PM
BBQ hook-up - adapters Scotsman1963 2005 and newer - Bambi all models 3 11-29-2014 12:53 PM
Drain hose adapters help F1reh0lder Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes 9 11-14-2014 11:52 PM
2000 land yacht diesel blows house breaker after plug-in dhshipley Flat-Front (Cutter, Clipper, XC, XL & Skydeck) Motorhomes 7 08-10-2009 08:59 AM
Plug in at house to use AC wille Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 12 08-03-2009 12:32 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.