Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2016, 02:35 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
2007 30' Classic
Ayr , Ontario
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 198
Running new wires for Solar

I have an 07 Classic 30 and want to run new wires for the solar. I currently have the 10 AWG wires installed, but want to add an additional 200 watts of solar. The only missing link for me currently is getting the new wires to the roof. The current wires are run in the fridge area up to the roof to the existing 50 watt panels.

How do I get the new wire from under the couch to the fridge area? Can I use the 10 gauge as a fishing line? Or is it fastened somewhere?

I would like to hear from someone who has done this on this type of trailer.

Thanks,
Walt
__________________

__________________
gator.bigfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 09:45 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' Classic
Pleasanton , California
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 541
Not sure what your existing system is but you might be able to configure your additional panels in a series/parallel arrangement, increasing the voltage so you can still use the #10 AWG wiring with minimal losses. You'll need an MPPT solar controller that can accept a higher input voltage for the PV array. I have a total of 400 W in a series/parallel configuration with a Blue Sky 3024i controller and my losses due to the pre-wiring are less than 2%.
__________________

__________________
Al, K6IV
2015 30' Classic, "Chez Nu"
2014 RAM 2500 w/Cummins Diesel
ProPride Hitch, 400 W Solar
alano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 09:54 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8,979
Images: 5
I have an 07 classic and ran 6 gauge to the roof. PM me. It's relatively easy
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 04:05 AM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
WayneG's Avatar
 
1984 27' Airstream 270
Scotia , New York
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 380
I dont know what type of vents a 07 has, but in my 84 MH I went from the overhead cabinets to the roof vent. I ran each 100 watt panel on a separate pair of 10 gauge wires and made the junction in the overhead cabinet to 6 gauge down the side of the window to the solar controller under the dinette seat.
http://theouterlimits.ws/projects/ai...lar/index.html



__________________
WayneG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 03:41 PM   #5
3 Rivet Member
 
2007 30' Classic
Ayr , Ontario
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by alano View Post
Not sure what your existing system is but you might be able to configure your additional panels in a series/parallel arrangement, increasing the voltage so you can still use the #10 AWG wiring with minimal losses. You'll need an MPPT solar controller that can accept a higher input voltage for the PV array. I have a total of 400 W in a series/parallel configuration with a Blue Sky 3024i controller and my losses due to the pre-wiring are less than 2%.

I really don't want to replace my charger. I know I could buy cheaper MPPT panels, but overall it will cost me more. The wiring change should just be 20 feet and that shouldn't cost too much.
__________________
gator.bigfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 05:40 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' Classic
Pleasanton , California
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by gator.bigfoot View Post
I really don't want to replace my charger. I know I could buy cheaper MPPT panels, but overall it will cost me more. The wiring change should just be 20 feet and that shouldn't cost too much.
If running wires isn't a headache, that's definitely the way to go. My suggestion is more suited to folks trying to minimize the install process or are wary of routing wires.
__________________
Al, K6IV
2015 30' Classic, "Chez Nu"
2014 RAM 2500 w/Cummins Diesel
ProPride Hitch, 400 W Solar
alano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 04:04 PM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
I have the factory sold charging system and want to make a small upgrade to 200 watts. Can I just remove the two 53 watt panels and replace them with 100 watt panels and use the same wiring? It sound too simple. Am I missing something?
__________________
hobiedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 04:30 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar
 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 571
Images: 1
Running new wires for Solar

200watts on the factory 10ga solar prewire is not a problem (assuming the factory charge controller can handle 15amps). Just remove the old panels , install the new ones and tie into the existing factor wires. Done.

When you hit around 300-400 watts you'll want to consider upgrading to 6ga wire to reduce voltage drop... But for 200 watts you'll be fine.

I ran 320watts (2x160 go power panels) on the factory 10ga wire @18v (not 36) and it worked fine without issue .... I seem to remember that I was able to produce up to around 13amps of charge in the real world on flat / non tilting panels.

When I added another 160 watts to the system (for 480 watts total) I only then upgraded to 6ga wire...

Btw a basic solar charge controller is cheap - I think my go power 30amp charge controller was like $125bucks or so. Performs 3-stage charging ....
__________________
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 08:12 PM   #9
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by wulfraat View Post
200watts on the factory 10ga solar prewire is not a problem (assuming the factory charge controller can handle 15amps). Just remove the old panels , install the new ones and tie into the existing factor wires. Done.

When you hit around 300-400 watts you'll want to consider upgrading to 6ga wire to reduce voltage drop... But for 200 watts you'll be fine.

I ran 320watts (2x160 go power panels) on the factory 10ga wire @18v (not 36) and it worked fine without issue .... I seem to remember that I was able to produce up to around 13amps of charge in the real world on flat / non tilting panels.

When I added another 160 watts to the system (for 480 watts total) I only then upgraded to 6ga wire...

Btw a basic solar charge controller is cheap - I think my go power 30amp charge controller was like $125bucks or so. Performs 3-stage charging ....


Interesting.......

Just so you know what else is out there, a 320 watt system (2X160s) that I install with a Blue Sky or Victron MPPT controller will provide closer to 20 amps to the batteries using 6 AWG cabling @ 12 VDC nominal in a parallel connection.


Lew Farber
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 02:35 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar
 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 571
Images: 1
Thanks Lew -

Yeah not sure what the 13A is measured against as it's read out by the controller (pre battery) which is about 5 feet total run to the panels but another 12-15 feet from the batteries.... My panels are rated at 18.4v and 8.8amp each.

So I'm thinking that 13amps is measured against 18.4 volts pre battery controller input... So after converting 13 or so amps @ 18.4v controller input to 14.1v controller output or what have you it would be closer to 17 or 18amps...

But I'd need to verify how the controller is reporting amps - based on 18.4v input or 14.1v output

http://gpelectric.com/products/overlander-solar-kit
__________________
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 06:52 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar
 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 571
Images: 1
Well for what it is worth Go Power got back to me and my controller is displaying amps output to the battery @ 12v. Now that I've re-wired with 6ga and added more panels I think the next upgrade will be a Victron 100/50 MPPT controller to gain a bunch more efficiency out of the system!

Thanks for the info Lew.
__________________
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 07:17 PM   #12
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by wulfraat View Post
Well for what it is worth Go Power got back to me and my controller is displaying amps output to the battery @ 12v. Now that I've re-wired with 6ga and added more panels I think the next upgrade will be a Victron 100/50 MPPT controller to gain a bunch more efficiency out of the system!

Thanks for the info Lew.
GREAT CHOICE!!!! And you can watch all of the parameters on your cell phone too.......
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 10:22 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar
 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 571
Images: 1
Question for you Lew, now that i've hijacked the thread

1. Can I run my panels in parallel to the 100/50 unit (480 watts total)? or do they need to be in series to generate a higher voltage? The manual says you must have at least 5v delta between the PV source and the battery for the controller to "start"... (the are currently run in parallel to my current controller and would prefer not to re-wire the panels in series)

2. Can you have both a BMV-700 monitor AND bluetooth dongle connected to the controller or is it one or the other?

Thanks man!
__________________

__________________
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where are the solar pre wires in my Bambi Dureedesign Generators & Solar Power 14 09-12-2016 01:15 PM
What size wires for running lights and separate alternator to house battery DavidF Lights - Interior & Exterior 1 12-26-2015 07:25 PM
Location of Solar Pre-Wire. Where are the wires? kscherzi Generators & Solar Power 10 06-02-2013 04:06 PM
Installing Wires In Wall For Solar Power 1963tradewin Generators & Solar Power 8 08-27-2012 10:43 AM
Solar panel, getting wires into trailer bmklawt Generators & Solar Power 3 03-30-2009 08:48 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.